Day 359 Omelet (Splendid)

I have become so accustomed to cooking and writing in the evening that I don’t always take advantage of the time available to me on a Sunday afternoon. I really should have at least prepared today’s recipe before I left on a train for my parents this evening. I just thought it would be fun to let them share in the experience. This turned out to be a big mistake as the train was one hour late. So here I sit in a train station without a kitchen or supplies or even internet wondering if I would be able to prepare anything before midnight tonight. I’m flashing back to my months of disruption but it does mean I’m prepared for anything. I have the cook book with me so I’m using the time to select a quick recipe and at least get something written. Thus tonight’s recipe from the 1906 Berlin Cook Book isn’t particularly festive although apparently it is “splendid”. Instead I suppose it is a good choice for a busy day or perhaps as a holiday breakfast. I am making Mrs. H. C. Diebel’s recipe for Omelet (Splendid).

I made half the recipe and started by separating the eggs. I had to use large ones rather than my usual medium as that is what my parents keep on hand. I beat the three yolks and added the 1/4 pint (1/2 cup) of milk. I mixed in the 3 teaspoons cornstarch, 1/2 teaspoon baking powder and a bit of salt. Next I beat the whites as stiffly as I could. I folded them into the rest of the mixture and quickly melted some butter in a frying pan. I gently poured the omelet into the pan and let it cook. Mrs. Diebel seems to assume experience with omelets as she doesn’t provide any more information regarding time or appearance. I let it cook until the edges and underside were firm and a bit golden. I turned the omelet and then folded it. As soon as it was done I put it on a plate and we sampled.

Mrs. Diebel's Omelet ready to eat.

Mrs. Diebel’s Omelet ready to eat.

Mrs. H. C. Diebel is a regular here and it is late so I’m not going to talk about her. However, her omelet was well received by my tasters. I hadn’t had supper so I was hungry enough to at least make a dent in my omelet despite my dislike for eggs. It was pretty good even for an egg hater like me. The tasters said it was perfect and fluffy and delicious. It did look good. This might be a good omelet for a beginner to attempt as the cornstarch must help stabilize it. Another time travelling recipe success!

OMELET (SPLENDID)
Mrs. H. C. Diebel
6 eggs, whites and yolks beaten separately, 1/2 pint milk, 6 teaspoons cornstarch, 1 teaspoon baking powder and a little salt, add the whites, beaten to a stiff froth last, cook in a little butter.

This entry was posted in Cooking, Food History, Kitchener, Main, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

