Day 355 Chocoltae Sauce

I have some Fruit Pudding left and although it is nice with hard sauce I thought I’d try it with a different pudding sauce. I’m not sure chocolate will suit this pudding but I’m willing to give it a try. After all … it’s chocolate! The recipe with the misspelled or misprinted title was contributed by Florence Cook and for some reason it is called Chocoltae [sic] Sauce in the 1906 Berlin Cook Book.

Initially I thought the directions were clear until part way through making the sauce I realized the ingredients included flour but the directions didn’t indicate when it should be added. So here’s the way I made the sauce. I measured the milk into a saucepan. While it heated I mixed the cocoa powder and sugar together. I added the milk to the sugar/cocoa mixture and then put everything back in the pan. I separated the egg and added the vanilla to the yolk as I beat it. I put a tablespoon of flour in a bowl and added a tiny bit of cold water to it and then added the hot milk mixture to it a little at a time before putting everything back in the pan. I let it come to a boil and then added the egg yolk/vanilla combination. I stirred again on the burner for a minute before removing it and pouring it over a warm slice of Fruit Pudding. I think if I make this again, I would add the flour to the cocoa/sugar blend.

Florence Cook contributed another pudding sauce. I tried her lemon sauce back in February and discovered that she was one of the youngest contributors as she was just a teen. In 1911 twenty-one year old Florence E. Cook lives with her parents and her younger brother at 21 Church Street in Berlin Ontario. Florence works as a stenographer in a leather factory and her brother is a bank clerk at the Bank of Toronto. Her father is a fire chief and building inspector.

Chocoltae Sauce on fruit pudding

Chocoltae Sauce on fruit pudding

I’ve discovered chocolate sauce doesn’t go well with fruit pudding but it is an acceptable sauce. It is basically a chocolate pudding. Miss Cook’s lemon sauce was much better and might suit this pudding. I don’t think I’ll bother with this chocolate sauce even though it is quite easy to make. The chocolate flavour is mild and I think the egg is unnecessary. The flour is there for thickening but otherwise some sugar, cocoa, milk and vanilla are just fine.

CHOCOLTAE SAUCE
Florence Cook
1 cup milk, 1 tablespoon flour, 1 egg yolk, 1 tablespoon cocoa, 1/4 cup sugar, 1/2 teaspoon vanilla, heat the milk, mix sugar and cocoa in a bowl, stir into them the heated milk, put over the fire and stir constantly until it boils. Take from fire, add beaten egg yolk quickly and vanilla. Cook 1 minute longer. Serve hot.

This entry was posted in Cooking, Dessert, Food History, Kitchener, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

