Day 354 Chicken Croquetts

I’m just home from a wonderful concert — Stuart Maclean’s Vinyl Cafe. This is becoming an annual gift my friend and I give each other for Christmas. A Stuart Maclean classic story is Dave Cooks the Turkey and one of this years stories also involves a turkey. I still have plenty of turkey left from last night’s dinner so I’m going to make Chicken Croquetts but I’m going to use turkey instead. This is another recipe submitted by Mrs. E. F. Seagram of Waterloo for the 1906 Berlin Cook Book.

Leftover Turkey

Leftover Turkey

I decided to make just half the recipe. I chopped up turkey into small pieces until I had 1/2 cup. I beat one egg and added the meat. Next I added 1/4 cup of chicken stock, 1/8 cup of milk and 1/4 cup of butter that I melted. It was looking very liquid so I hoped the 1/2 cup of flour would thicken everything. Finally I added the parsley, salt and pepper.

 

The batter

The batter

I couldn’t imagine how I could from this batter into anything that I could roll in bread crumbs. I let it sit while I melted some lard. It still hadn’t thickened so I added just a bit more flour. I was afraid if I added more flour that I’d simply end up with dough balls and lose the turkey bits.

 

A blob of batter in bread crumbs.

A blob of batter in bread crumbs.

I tried dropping some of the batter into a dish of bread crumbs before frying. I also tried dropping the batter directly into the hot fat, a bit like making doughnuts. I tried taking those turkey doughnuts and rolling them in bread crumbs and putting them back into the fat. In the end the most successful way seemed to be dough in bread crumbs and then into the fat.It created a crispier coating. I was eager to sample.

Mrs. E. F. Seagram contributed quite a few recipes so I’ve talked about her a number of times.

Chicken Croquetts made with turkey

Chicken Croquetts made with turkey

I wish these had turned out a bit better. There seems to be potential for this recipe. I’m wondering if it should be stock or milk rather than both. I think it needs more of the meat too. The turkey was a bit lost within the coating. For now, I’m going back to turkey sandwiches as a way to use up more of the leftovers especially since I still have some cranberry sauce to go with it.

CHICKEN CROQUETTS
Mrs. E. F. Seagram, Waterloo
1 cup of chicken, 3/4 cup of stock, 1/4 cup cream or milk, 1/2 cup of butter, 1 cup flour, 2 eggs, 1 teaspoon chopped parsley, salt and pepper to season. Form into croquetts, roll in bread crumbs and egg and sprinkle with flour. Add chicken and egg first in the mixture. Fry in lard and serve very hot.

This entry was posted in Cooking, Food History, Kitchener, Main, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Day 354 Chicken Croquetts

  1. I also like to make Turkey Pot Pie with leftover turkey.

  2. Glad to hear Stuart McLean was good. I wanted to go but we were just too busy this week. Love listening to him on the radio and I have one of his Christmas CDs with the infamous Dave Cooks the Turkey story as well as the one about the trip to Cape Breton where they get holed up in the motel due to a snow storm. He’s such an amazing story teller!

Leave a Reply

