Day 345 Date Cakes

I’m still not feeling great (in fact I posted this before it was done) so I looked for a simple recipe. The title makes this seem complex but reading the recipe in the 1906 Berlin Cook Book reveals it is easy. I am making Mrs. H. Rathman’s Date Cakes.

I can make cookie dough in my sleep so I made one I know well. I creamed 1 cup brown sugar, 1/2 cup white sugar, and 1 cup butter. Then I added 2 eggs and 1 1/2 teaspoons vanilla. I added 2 1/2 cups flour, 1 teaspoon baking soda and 1/2 teaspoon salt. When that was mixed I took a few dates, removed pits and substituted blanched whole almonds. I took pieces of dough and rolled them in my hands to make strips that I wrapped around the dates. I baked them at 350 for 10 minutes. I put the rest of the dough away to use another day when I feel better.

Mrs. H. Rathman is a frequent contributor to the Berlin Cook Book so I’ve talked about her a number of times.

Date Cakes

Date Cakes

The date cakes looked perfect when they came out of the oven. I tasted one while it was still warm and then tried another cool one. These are a great little treat. I really liked them but I love dates, almonds and cookies. The only suggestion I’d add is to toast the almonds. They would be a different addition to a plate of mixed cookies. When I feel better, I’ll make them again.

DATE CAKES
Mrs. H. Rathman
Take stone out of date and put almond in place, make a nice cookie dough, cut in narrow strips and wrap around the date, leaving both ends of date projecting, then bake.

This entry was posted in Christmas, Cookies, Cooking, Food History, Kitchener, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Day 345 Date Cakes

  1. Desmond says:

    Actually, I know you were thinking of doing this as a quiet day thing…but they’re a nice, simple, festive Christmasy cookie by the looks of things.

Leave a Reply

