Day 344 Chocolate Tapioca (also called Chocolate Pudding)

I was up at five this morning to prepare for work being done on my place (yes some tradespeople work Saturday) and now I’m ready for a rest. I was supposed to be attending a Turkey Dinner put on by the men of the church. Unfortunately the laryngitis I had this morning has developed into a full cold. I thought it best not share it with others. I decided to make Miss S. Albert’s recipe for Chocolate Tapioca since it might be soothing on a sore throat and I like both chocolate and tapioca in theory. In looking at the various tapioca recipes in the 1906 Berlin Cook Book, I discovered an almost identical recipe called Chocolate Pudding had been contributed by Miss K. Mangold. You can judge for yourself since I’ve put both recipes below. Tapioca is made from the root of the tapioca plant. It can be used as a flour or the more familar minute tapioca or the small or large size “pearls” better known by kids as fish egg and fish eye. Today you are more likely to see tapioca as an option for bubble tea.

Soaked Tapioca

Soaked Tapioca

I put 1 cup of large tapioca pearls in a cup of water and a cup of milk. The store’s sales clerk said to only use milk and yet the recipe says water so I used one of each. At this point I reread both recipes and realized that although they are the same in nearly every way there is one big difference. Miss Albert uses 1 cup of tapioca while Miss Mangold uses 1/2 cup. What to do? I continued to soak the cup of tapioca but when it came time to cook I would use half as I could add more tapioca later.

I let the tapioca soak for two hours and then drained. I put half in a small saucepan with two cups of boiling water and turned the heat to medium. I check progress after 15 minutes and realized I should have stirred. It was a bit lumpy but I was able to break it apart. I added the chocolate and sugar and once it was melted I removed the pan from the heat. I whipped two egg whites and folded them into the tapioca and added the vanilla. I reread the recipes and found another two differences. Miss Albert’s recipe has two egg yolks but Miss Mangold’s recipe is much more my style and avoids the yolks. Miss Albert adds a teaspoon of vanilla while Miss Mangold in keeping with the smaller amount of tapioca adds just half a teaspoon. I did not add egg yolks and added just 1/2 teaspoon of vanilla. I let it cool a bit before tasting.

Miss S. Albert and Miss K. Mangold have used essentially the same recipe. On first reading I thought I detected hints of personality. Miss Mangold calls it a “toothsome dessert”. I wondered how else their lives might parallel each other or differ. Miss Catherine Mangold was born in 1885 and Miss Susanna Matilda Albert is five year older. Catherine’s mother was born in Germany and Susanna’s father was born there. Susanna is Mennonite and later Brethern while Catherine is Lutheran. In 1901 and 1911 Susanna is working in a shirt factory and in 1911 Catherine works as a shoemaker in a rubber factory. In 1911 Susanna lives with her parents and a boarder at 24 Mitchell Street in Berlin. Her father is a labourer. Her three older sisters have moved on. Catherine (whose last name is spelled Maugold in the 1911 census) lives with her mother and two younger sisters and a younger brother at 144 Queen Street North in Berlin. Her father is not in the household and her mother is legally separated. Susanna’s mother dies in 1914. I found a family website which gives more information about Susanna. She died in 1974 at the age of 94 and she never married. http://www.reynolds-lake.ca/genealogy/getperson.php?personID=I9612&tree=Main

How can two young women separated by a five year age difference attending different churches end up with essentially the same recipe? Both worked in factories but not the same factory. Their addresses still exist so I mapped the route and they live at opposite ends of Queen Street. Mitchell Street is just off Queen Street South. It is about a twenty minute walk between their two homes.

Chocolate Tapioca

Chocolate Tapioca

Eating Chocolate Tapioca/Chocolate Pudding was soothing to my throat since I had it slightly warm. As expected this is a very chocolatey dessert. I had to use semi sweet chocolate making it even sweeter. I liked it but the somewhat gluey tapioca texture wasn’t as appealing as the chocolate made fluffy by the egg whites. I’d like to try this recipe again with a different type of tapioca and with unsweetened chocolate. This is worth a try if you don’t mind raw egg white and tapioca … and chocolate! It was soothing to my throat since I had it slightly warm.

CHOCOLATE TAPIOCA

Miss S. Albert
Wash a cup of tapioca and soak for several hours in cold water; drain, pour on boiling water, and cook until clear; add a cupful of sugar, a tiny shake of salt, the yolks of  eggs well beaten, 2 ounces of shaved chocolate; when the chocolate is melted and well mixed with the tapioca, add the well beaten whites of 2 eggs; stir in lightly, do not beat it; then add a teaspoon of vanilla; pour into a dish and set aside to cool. Serve with cream.

CHOCOLATE PUDDING
Miss K. Mangold
To make this toothsome dessert, wash 1/2 cup of tapioca and soak for several hours in cold water; drain, pour on boiling water and cook until clear; add a cupful of sugar, a tiny shake of salt, and 2 ounces of gated chocolate. When chocolate is melted and well mixed with tapioca add the well beaten whites of 2 eggs, stir in lightly. Do not beat it. Then add 1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract; let cool and serve with sauce.

This entry was posted in Cooking, Dessert, Food History, Kitchener, Pudding, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

