Day 338 French Omelet

I wasn’t home much today so I’m making a quick recipe tonight. I’m trying another omelette recipe from the 1906 Berlin Cook Book despite my dislike of eggs. I live in hope that this is an egg recipe I’ll enjoy. This time it is French Omelet using another recipe from Mrs. H. Rathman.

I chopped the onion and mixed it with the milk (1 pint = 2 cups), bread crumbs (1/2 pint = 1 cup), eggs, flour and some parsley. I also added salt and pepper. I beat everything together while the butter melted in the frying pan. A spider is simply a type of frying pan. It was an old term even in 1906 but would be part of the vocabulary of an older contributor. I’m sure I used cooking terms that date me as much as Mrs. Rathman’s terms date her. Once the butter melted I poured in the “batter”. This make a large omelette as it nearly filled my frying pan to the top. I think this recipe suits a wider frying pan. As it cooked I tried to figure out how I was going to flip it. I ended up cutting it in half and I still mangled the flip. As it cooked I began to anticipate tasting this French Omelet since it looked and smelled good.

Mrs. H. Rathman (Katherine Kraemer) had French-born parents which is likely where the recipe name originates. I can picture the Rathman’s and their adult daughter enjoying an omelette for lunch or supper. The parents are in their sixties so an omelette is easy to eat and inexpensive.

French Omelet

French Omelet

I think I’ve found another egg dish I can tolerate eating. The onion flavour covers up the taste of sulphur I usually experience when eating eggs and the bread crumbs prevent the curd like texture I dislike so much. Omelette purists will probably hate this one since it lacks the delicacy of a true omelette but if you want to stretch your eggs or perhaps tempt an egg hater like me, then this recipe is well worth trying.

FRENCH OMELET
Mrs. H. Rathman
1 pint milk, 1/2 pint bread crumbs, 3 eggs, 1 small tablespoon flour, 1 onion chopped fine, a little parsley, season with pepper and salt, have butter melted in a spider. When the omelet is brown turn it over.

This entry was posted in Cooking, Food History, Kitchener, Main, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

