Day 334 Cabbage Salad

I’ve had a cabbage sitting in my kitchen for a while and decided to make Cabbage Salad using a recipe contributed by G. D. for the 1906 Berlin Cook Book. I suspect G. D. is Georgie DeBus. There are three recipes for Cabbage Salad in the cook book and each one is very different. This one doesn’t include its own dressing so I’m going to make the Cabbage Salad Dressing from February 20th (Day 54) since it was good. I’ve included Addie M. Weaver’s recipe again below.

I started by making the dressing so that it could cool. Next I shredded cabbage until I had two cups. I measured chopped walnuts and added them to the cabbage. Once the dressing was cool I poured some over the walnuts and cabbage and mixed well. I followed the recipe and plated the salad with a lettuce leaf garnish and topped it with parsley. Now it was time to taste. It looked appealing in a cabbage way.

Miss Georgina Maude Debus contributed a lot of recipes so that could be the reason she used initials for this recipe … that’s if she is actually the contributor.

Cabbage Salad

The salad was better than I expected and the walnuts suit it. This is an extremely simple salad to make and the dressing goes well with it. I’m going to keep this version of cabbage salad in mind any time I need to make a quick winter salad.

CABBAGE SALAD
G. D.
2 cups raw cabbage, 1/2 cup chopped walnuts, mix ingredients together and garnish with lettuce leaves and parsley. Use salad dressing.

CABBAGE SALAD DRESSING
6 tablespoons vinegar, 2 tablespoons cream, 1 tablespoon sugar, 2 tablespoons melted butter, 1 egg, 1 teaspoon mustard, 1/4 teaspoon salt, 1/4 teaspoon pepper, mix mustard with part of vinegar, salt and pepper, mix butter, egg and cream together add remainder of vinegar and cook.

This entry was posted in Cooking, Food History, Kitchener, Salad, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

