Day 328 Marmalade Pudding

One of the up sides to unemployment is free time during the middle of the day. Today a friend stopped by for lunch and I served a modern soup but accompanied it with Corn Bread made using the recipe from Day 85 back in March. For dessert we had Marmalade Pudding with Foaming Sauce. It turns out I had tried the Foaming Sauce recipe back on Day263 in September so Miss E. Brigel’s Marmalade Pudding is today’s recipe from the 1906 Berlin Cook Book.

I had intended to make carrot pudding but found out my carrots were in poor shape so I had to scramble to get this pudding ready in time for lunch. My first task was finding some marmalade. I’ve wanted to make this pudding for a while and planned to use my own homemade marmalade. Unfortunately my jar of marmalade was a casualty when the fridge was left unplugged in one of its moves between rooms during the repairs to my house. My marmalade had to be thrown out like everything else in that fridge.

Success! I happen to have some Robertson’s marmalade — one of the old old brands — in my cupboard. Now I can construct a marmalade pudding. I weighed the suet and flour and put them in a bowl. Next I weighed the bread crumbs and stirred them in with the other dry ingredients. Sugar was the next dry ingredient. Once everything was mixed well I started adding the wet ingredients.  I weighed the marmalade and added the eggs. This is quite a dry mixture so it took some time to get everything well blended. I forgot to add the salt but I kept checking the recipe to be sure I hadn’t missed a wet ingredient. Once the pudding was mixed I spooned it into the greased pudding mold. The mold went into a pot of water to steam for three hours.

Miss E. Brigel has probably had her name misspelled on this page of the cookbook. Elsewhere it is spelled Briegel and I made another of her puddings on September 18. Her parents were probably from Waterloo County before they moved to Montreal.

A good slice of Marmalade Pudding.

I had to loosen the pudding before I could get it to come out of the mold. I was a little worried as there seemed to be a lot of liquid around it. However, the pudding was cooked and easy to slice. The extra liquid was from the melted suet — there is a lot of suet in this pudding making it very moist. The marmalade flavour is mild. I’d expected a more citrus taste and was a bit disapointed. The foaming went well with the pudding but my taster and I thought a lemon sauce might work too. The “feel” of the pudding is a little different since the bread crumbs add an almost crunchy texture to it. My taster had a second piece and helped me by taking most of the marmalade pudding home. I had another piece cold tonight and was surprised that it tasted quite good cold. This is not a heart smart pudding as it contains a large amount of suet however, that suet will keep marmalade pudding moist for a long time. This is a good keeping pudding.

If you are a marmalade fan you might want to attend Mad for Marmalade, Crazy for Citrus on February 23, 2013. It’s held every year in Toronto and I’ll have more details soon on the Workshops page.

MARMALADE PUDDING
Miss E. Brigel, Montreal
1/2 pound suet, 1/4 pound flour, 1/4 pound bread crumbs, 5 ounces marmelade, pinch of salt, 1/4 pound sugar, 3 eggs. Steam 3 hours.

This entry was posted in Cooking, Dessert, Food History, Kitchener, Pudding, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

