Day 326 Chocolate Cream Candy

I was up all night volunteering at a homeless shelter and so the start to my day has been a bit delayed. The one thing I seemed to crave this afternoon was chocolate so I’m making Chocolate Cream Candy. The recipe was contributed by Attie Murray to the 1906 Berlin Cook Book. If it turns out I’ll take some to my meeting tonight.

Every time I see delicious sounding recipes like this in the cook book, I wonder why I haven’t made them yet this year. A closer look at the recipe reveals why I might have bypassed it until now. There is a strange ingredient included in the list — coffee. I think it is a misprint but I’m going to test the recipe without it and see what happens. I welcome your speculations about this!

I put the butter in a saucepan and turned the heat low. Next I added the sugar and milk and started melting the chocolate separately. You’ll notice the chocolate is a particular brand. This is often an indication that the recipe originated with the company. We still see this today — especially at this time of year as food companies try to get their product in our homes for the holidays. I used two squares of Bakers chocolate since is the remaining brand in my grocery store. Cowan’s chocolate was a Canadian brand manufactured in Toronto.

Once the butter, milk, sugar combination was boiling I added the melted chocolate. I continued boiling and testing the mixture. When it reached soft ball stage I removed it from the heat and added the vanilla. I beat it and poured it into buttered pans once it was creamy. I marked the squares and sampled as soon as possible.

Attie Murray’s Chocolate Cream Candy

Unfortunately I don’t know anything about Attie Murray but she contributed a great candy recipe. Chocolate Cream Candy is basically fudge. It was easy to make, delicious and was a big hit at my meeting. Everyone who could eat candy had several pieces. It is very “chocolatey”. It was incredible while still warm and is still great once it cools. This is another great time travelling recipe from another “invisible” woman in Berlin Ontario.

CHOCOLATE CREAM CANDY
Attie Murray
2 cups of granulated sugar or coffee, 2/3 cup of milk, 1 tablespoon of butter, 2 squares of Cowan’s chocolate and 1 teaspoon of vanilla. Put butter into a saucepan. When melted, add sugar and milk. Heat to boiling point and stir in the chocolate melted over the kettle. Boil until a little dropped in water forms a soft ball between the fingers. Remove from fire, add vanilla and beat until of a creamy consistency. Pour at once into buttered pans, cool and mark in squares.

This entry was posted in Candy, Cooking, Food History, Kitchener, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Day 326 Chocolate Cream Candy

  1. Kate says:

    The Barefoot Contessa uses coffee in her brownie recipe and they are to die for.

  2. Desmond says:

    Could they have meant toffee? I mean you wouldn’t add 2 cups of coffee. A tbsp of instant coffee in something like that would make it nice…but I’d not eat something with 2 cups of cofffee in it.

Leave a Reply

