Day 324 Albumenized Orange Juice for Invalids

My plans for today have changed dramatically. I woke up feeling sick and have spent most of the day in bed. I’m not sure the following recipe would make me feel better but I’m going to make Albumenized Orange Juice for Invalids since it seems easy and doesn’t require any cooking. Lillian J. Breithaupt contributed the recipe for the 1906 Berlin Cook Book.

This style of juicer has been around a long time.

I was given a number of empty canning jars recently so I have plenty of pint containers from which to choose for this recipe. I separated one medium egg and put the white in the clean jar. I rolled one orange on the counter to increase the juice before I sliced it in half and squeezed it using an old style juicer. I put the juice in the jar. I weighed the sugar and added 1 pound ( 2 1/2 cups) into the jar. I put the lid on it and shook. Well I tried to shake. The proportion of sugar to the liquids (egg white and orange juice) made it impossible to really shake. I ended up stirring and then shaking. I don’t have a sherbet glass so I sampled straight from the pint jar.

Lillian J. Breithaupt lived with her parents and younger siblings. In the 1911 census she’s 27 and lives at 108 Queen Street. There are two female servants taking care of the household. Miss Breithaupt was involved in her community. In the 1930s she was the president of the Ladies Auxiliary for the local sanatorium. The University of Waterloo’s Dana Porter Library has a large number of documents from her family that I hope to explore soon.

Albumenized Orange Juice for Invalids

It took all my courage to try this “drink” since it contains not just egg but RAW egg. In the 21st century most of us have grown up wary of raw eggs due to the possibility of salmonella contamination therefore it seems strange to us to include one in a beverage for a sick person. However, it was very common in the early 20th century when cook books might still contain sections for home remedies and caring for the sick.

The biggest problem in trying to drink Albumenized Orange Juice for Invalids was that it wasn’t a liquid. Instead I took a spoonful of the wet sugar and tasted. The first thing I noticed was the flavour of orange but the main sensation was sugar granules. This is incredibly sweet. I’m sure it would be very popular with children and would provide calories and some nutrition in the form of orange and egg. However,  the sugar is just overwhelming even for someone with a sweet tooth. I suspect the recipe was supposed to be for 1/ 2 a pound rather than a pound of sugar. I don’t recommend trying this recipe both for safety and taste reasons.

ALBUMENIZED ORANGE JUICE FOR INVALIDS
Lillian J. Breithaupt
1 egg white, 1 pound sugar, juice of 1 orange. Method: Put white of egg in a pint jar, add orange juice and sugar, cover lightly and shake until well mixed, serve in a sherbet glass.

This entry was posted in Beverages, Cooking, Food History, Invalid Cooking, Kitchener, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

