Day 321 Cinnamon Pudding

For most of the year I’ve been skipping over Miss Dora Delion’s recipe for Cinnamon Pudding in the 1906 Berlin Cook Book. It is a very brief recipe at the top of a page so it is easy to miss. It is also a simple recipe so I’d been saving it for a busy time. Today wasn’t a busy day but I don’t feel great and this recipe appeals to me.

I creamed the butter and brown sugar, and then added the eggs. I dissolved the baking soda and baking powder in the sour milk and then added it to the previous mixture. Once it was well blended I added the flour and cinnamon. I use basic all purpose flour in these recipes as it is essentially the same ingredient used in 1906 and some brands are still available! Pastry and cake flour are mentioned in the cook book so I generally assume that if a type of flour isn’t mentioned, then all purpose flour is intended. Specialty flours like graham, rye, rice and corn are used for some recipes too.

This is my 5 year old pudding mold. It is similar to a type available in 1906.

I stirred everything well and then greased my pudding mold and spooned the batter into it. Sometimes I flour the mold too. Pudding molds are available in specialty kitchen stores and still look much as they did in 1906. Once the lid was on the mold I put it into a pot of water and turned up the heat. The water should come up as high as the batter and the pot should be covered. I wasn’t sure how long to steam the Cinnamon Pudding but I started with one hour and it was enough.

Miss Dora Delion appears as Dora C. Dellion in the 1901 census. She’s 14 years old then and lives with her mother, father and younger brother. Her father, a printer, died in 1909 of nephritis, according to the Waterloo Region Generations website.

Miss Dora Delion’s Cinnamon Pudding

After waiting an hour for the pudding to steam, I was anxious to taste. I put a plate on top of the pudding mold and turned it over. The pudding slid out nicely and I cut a slice while it was still steaming hot. This is a small pudding so I imagine it was just the right size for the four member Delion/Dellion family. The pudding was a little dry so I think I steamed it just a little too long so I recommend perhaps 45 minutes. The flavour is mild so a modern cook might want to increase the cinnamon slightly. A sauce would complement the pudding when it is served — especially if it is a little dry. I’m going to keep this recipe on hand as it is quick, vegetarian, and makes a manageable amount of pudding for a small winter dinner party. Now all I need to do is decide what sauce to make to accompany my next slice of Miss Dora Delion’s Cinnamon Pudding.

CINNAMON PUDDING
Miss Dora Delion
2 eggs, 1 cup brown sugar, 1/2 cup butter, 1/2 teaspoon soda, 1/2 cup sour milk, one teaspoon baking powder, 1 teaspoon cinnamon, 1 1/2 cups flour. Steam.

This entry was posted in Cooking, Dessert, Food History, Kitchener, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

