Day 315 Macaroni in Tomato Sauce

Today I finally moved everything left from the upstairs kitchen back to my main kitchen. My home is starting to return to normal after months and months of disruption. One of the things I found was a package of pasta. I decided to make Macaroni in Tomato Sauce, recipe contributed by Miss Hilda Rumpel for the 1906 Berlin Cook Book.

I started the tomato sauce first. I used canned tomatoes and strained them. I discovered how important it is to read the full recipe. The onion has to be chopped finely. The next step was to make the roux (butter and flour). Once it was ready I slowly added the strained tomatoes and chopped onions along with salt, pepper and sugar.  I stirred well and left it to simmer on low heat while I started the macaroni/pasta. As mentioned in a previous post the term macaroni was used the way we use the term pasta. This is probably spaghetti. I used a form of pasta that is a long tube of macaroni. I broke the pasta into pieces and put them into boiling salted water. Once the pasta was ready I drained it and put it in the sauce and then served it up.

Hilda Rumpel as Miss Ontario at the switching on of hydroelectricity at Berlin Ontario October 11, 1910

Hilda Rumpel as Miss Ontario at the switching on of hydroelectricity at Berlin Ontario October 11, 1910

Miss Hilda Rumpel was a prolific contributor to the Berlin Cook Book. Perhaps she had more time for recipe testing and the opportunity to try new things since she was a young woman from a more prosperous family.

Miss Hilda Rumpel’s Macaroni in Tomato Sauce

I was hungry so I devoured my serving. I did add a little grated cheese after my first taste. This is a good basic sauce and basic pasta. I would probably skip sieving the tomatoes since I like a chunkier sauce. I also recommend cooking the onions just a little before adding them to the sauce unless you like crunchy onions.

MACARONI IN TOMATO SAUCE
Miss Hilda Rumpel
1/2 cup macaroni (broken in 1/2 inch pieces), 1 quart boiling water, 2 teaspoons salt, 2 cups tomato sauce; put the macaroni into the boiling, salted water and boil rapidly until soft, pour the macaroni into a colander, drain, rinse with cold water, and reheat with tomato sauce.

This entry was posted in Cooking, Food History, Kitchener, Main, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

