Day 314 Chocolate Cornstarch Pudding

Today I felt like warm chocolate so I’m making Chocolate Cornstarch Pudding. Laura Bornhold contributed the recipe for the 1906 Berlin Cook Book.

I heated the milk in a small saucepan and while it was on the burner I started to prepare the other ingredients. I grated the one square (1 ounce) of unsweetened chocolate into a bowl with the sugar, cornstarch and salt. I mixed them together and then slowly added it to the hot milk. I separated three eggs and then went back to stirring the pudding. Once it was thick I removed it from the heat and beat up the egg yolks. I slowly stirred them into the mix and returned the pan to the heat for a minute. At this point I checked the recipe again and realized it doesn’t say how many eggs are required! I have no idea why I used three eggs since it wasn’t a recipe mix up. None of the other recipes on the page call for three eggs. I seems to be the correct amount. This was clear once I whipped the egg whites and folded them into the pudding. I looked forward to tasting it.

Based on information on the Waterloo Region Generations website, Laura Henrietta Bornhold was born in 1888. She eventually married Harvey John Graber but when the cook book was published she was a dressmaker.

Chocolate Cornstarch Pudding

The pudding is thicker than some of the other cornstarch puddings. The chocolate flavour is not strong. This wasn’t the best pudding but it is certainly edible.

CHOCOLATE CORNSTARCH PUDDING
2 cups milk, 5 tablespoons cornstarch, 1/2 cup sugar, 1/4 teaspoon salt, 1 oz. unsweetened chocolate, 1 teaspoon vanilla. Heat the milk, mix together the sugar, cornstarch, grated chocolate and salt, stir in the scalded milk and stir over the fire until it thickens. Stir in gradually the beaten egg yolks and cook 1 minute longer; beat the egg whites stiff, add them to the thickened mixture and fold them in carefully; pour into molds previously dipped into cold water.

This entry was posted in Cooking, Dessert, Food History, Kitchener, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

