Day 313 Eggs in a Nest

Surprisingly I almost forgot to cook today! I got sidetracked so I needed a quick recipe. Those are usually from the egg section of the 1906 Berlin Cook Book and so I decided to make Eggs in a Nest using a recipe contributed by Mrs. H. Oswald.

I made a smaller version of the recipe. I separated two medium eggs. It was a challenge to ensure the yolks remained whole since they would be needed later. I whisked the two egg whites together until they were stiff. I spooned the beaten whites into a baking dish. I debated how much melted butter to use as the recipe mentions both tablespoons and teaspoons. I opted to use a tablespoon of melted butter poured onto the “nest” of egg white. I carefully put the egg yolks on top. I sprinkled some salt and pepper on top of the yolks and then topped it with a dollop of the egg white. I baked it at 350 degrees F. and intended to keep it in the oven for 10 minutes.

Mrs. H. Oswald is likely Emma Catherine Jacobi. She married Henry Oswald and they had two boys and a girl. In 1911 the family were still together and living at 22 Francis St. N. Henry worked as a salesman for a dry goods store and the oldest son age 20 was a cutter in a shirt factory. The other two children are listed as students.

Unfortunately around the baking half way mark disaster struck. I could smell something so decided to check in case the eggs were browning too much since it was a smaller amount. It was much worse! The yolks had slid off the egg white and down onto the floor of the oven and on the electric element. I pulled the pan out and will have to go back to deal with the mess once it cools. I decided to taste what I had instead of making more since the mess would only burn if I tried to use the oven. I plan to try it again another time since it looks really interesting. I think the trick is to create a hollow for the yolk and to use a dish in which the whites can be spread. I did taste what remained in the pan and it was simply beaten egg white. This dish has possibilities since I’m always looking for interesting things to serve my vegetarian friends.

EGGS IN A NEST
Beat to a stiff froth the whites of 6 eggs, put these in a well-buttered baking pan, dip upon it 6 tablespoons of melted butter or sweet cream, 1 only in a place; upon teaspoonful of cream or butter drop one of the yolks, whole, be very careful not to break them; sprinkle a little salt and pepper on yolks and a little white of egg. Bake in moderate oven about 10 minutes, be careful and not bake too brown.

This entry was posted in Cooking, Food History, Kitchener, Main, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

