Day 305 Corn Chowder

Reproduction can of corn from the dry goods & grocery store at Waterloo Region Museum.

It is another blustery day so I’m making Miss K Fisher’s Corn Chowder. Of course the recipe is from the 1906 Berlin Cook Book. I’ve been eyeing this recipe for a while but since it calls for canned corn I knew I could make it anytime. What I hadn’t expected was trying to find salt pork. My grocery store has salt back fat but I didn’t think that was the intended product. I finally found some dry salt pork belly so I used it for this recipe. Fortunately I was familiar with the size of commercially canned corn since I used to work in the dry goods and grocery store at Doon Heritage Village.

Frying salt pork and onions.

I cut the salt pork into bits and started frying. I assumed that’s what was meant by “drying”. Next I sliced the onion and put it in the frying pan too. Meanwhile I peeled three potatoes and cut them into slices. I started the water boiling in a saucepan. When I went to drain the fat from the pork and onion combination there really wasn’t any fat!

The main ingredients for corn chowder.

I put the potatoes in the water and left it to simmer. I had the milk measured (4 cups = 1 quart) and the corn ready to go into the pot once the potatoes were getting soft. Once they were added I left it to simmer. I decided to add some of the onions from the earlier frying so that at least some of that flavour was in the chowder. I’m still not sure why the pork and onions weren’t part of the final chowder in the recipe. Once the corn and potatoes were cooked I added the butter, salt and pepper. I didn’t have any of the crackers mentioned so I had to skip that part of the recipe. I picture them like cream crackers or water crackers. It is time to taste the corn chowder.

Miss K. Fisher is another frequent contributor to the Berlin Cook Book. She often mentions level measurements so I suspect she is a younger woman who has some sort of domestic science (home economics) training. Elementary schools had the option to include it among the subjects for girls. I have a copy of the official Ontario teacher manual for domestic science from the turn of the century. It describes ways to teach the subject in classes without any cooking equipment as well as full lesson plans for teaching nutrition, various cooking methods and care of a kitchen.

This soup was disappointing. The slices of potato are large and make it difficult to eat. It is very milky, something that doesn’t suit my taste. It is surprisingly bland. I might try making it with salt back fat to see if it makes a difference A modern cook could do a lot with this recipe as a base by cutting the pieces of potato smaller and then frying them with the pork and onion. I’d suggest adding the pork and onion to the soup and using a little less milk. Perhaps try using bacon instead of the salt pork. The soup could be made vegetarian simply by using oil instead of the pork fat.

Corn Chowder

CORN CHOWDER
1 1/2 inch cube salt pork, 1 sliced onion, 3 cups potatoes, 2 cups boiling water, 1 quart scalded milk, 2 tablespoons butter, 8 round crackers, 1 can corn, salt and pepper to taste, cut pork in small pieces to dry out, add onion and cook 5 minutes, stirring often: strain fat into a saucepan, add 2 cups boiling water to the fat and in it put the potatoes cut to 1/4 inch slices, cook them until almost soft, then add corn and milk; boil until potatoes and corn are soft, add butter and slit crackers; remove crackers, turn chowder into a tureen, put crackers on top. Note — Level measurements are used.

This entry was posted in Cooking, Food History, Kitchener, Soup, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Day 305 Corn Chowder

  1. Salt pork is sold wherever you find Newfoundlanders. TJ’s (the fish market) sells it. I’m not sure if what you had was salt pork but it looks like it. As for not including the onions and scrunchions (rendered salt pork cubes once fried are scrunchions in Newfanese), my theory is that is a writing oversight…so truth be told, the soup might be a bit greasy.

    That you didn’t get fat seems to me like you didn’t have the right product…there is always fat when you fry scrunchions.

    Even with those comments (and my Newfoundland salt pork expertise), this doesn’t sound like a very good soup. I can see it as a stew…fry the potatoes in salt pork and onions, add the cream to it aftewards as a thickening, and then some flour, and what not…it would be edible. But you need a fair amount of seasoning to make potato taste like anything I find.

  2. I looked closer at your picture…that doesn’t look like salt pork. It looks something like back bacon…curiousity piqued here!

  3. Thanks for the salt pork information. I’ll check out TJs to get the right thing as there are several more recipes that call for salt pork.

Leave a Reply

