Day 301 Cinnamon Layer Cake

Yesterday they finished painting the trim and baseboards in my kitchen so I can almost claim it as my own space again after months and months of disruption. Although I don’t quite have everything back in place it is nice to have easy access to my pantry and to know where the essentials are located. I feel like baking when I walk into it now and today is a rainy day — a good time to try Cinnamon Layer Cake. This is another 1906 Berlin Cook Book recipe from Mrs. August May.

I began by mixing the lard and butter together and then creaming them with the brown sugar. I added two medium eggs. Next I mixed the liquids (milk and molasses) together in one container and the dry ingredients (flour, cinnamon, cream of tartar, and soda) in another bowl. I mixed everything together. I spooned the batter into a greased oblong cake pan and baked at 350 degrees F. for forty minutes.

I’ve written about Mrs. August May (Hannah Hertel) quite a few times. She is a prolific contributor to the Berlin Cook Book.

This cake is very moist with a crispy edge so I think it will keep well. I see it as a family cake in 1906 — perfect for the May family’s four children. It has an “old-fashioned” taste probably because of the lard as well as the cinnamon flavour that is noticeable without being overpowering. I like it on its own but it would be even better with some icing/frosting or an apple filling. A modern household might want to serve it with some ice cream.

CINNAMON LAYER CAKE
2 eggs, 1 cup brown sugar, 1/4 cup lard, 1/4 cup butter, 1/2 cup molasses, 1/2 cup sweet milk, 1 teaspoon soda, 1/2 teaspoon cream tartar, 1 teaspoon cinnamon, 2 cups flour.

This entry was posted in Cake, Cooking, Food History, Kitchener, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Day 301 Cinnamon Layer Cake

  1. Desmond says:

    That does sound good. Bit like some old recipes from home.

Leave a Reply

