Day 299 Cream Pie

It is ten o’clock at night and I am just starting to cook. I needed a reasonably quick recipe from the 1906 Berlin Cook Book so I am making Mrs. B.McClymont’s Cream Pie.

I put all the ingredients into a saucepan to cook and let it simmer. I whisked it continuously at first and then stirred it occasionally as it thickened. Once it was thick I removed it from the heat and left it to cool. I don’t particularly like pastry so decided simply to make the filling. If you want to make this as a pie, you’ll need to make the pastry and bake a blind pie shell. This means you bake the pie without filling. The pie shell is then filled with the prepared filling once both are cool.

Mrs. McClymont is a mystery for now.

Cream Pie filling

This filling is a very nice custard and I think it is the first time I’ve been able to make custard on the first try! Not only was it not burned but there were very few lumps. Perhaps simply dumping everything in together and then turning up the heat while whisking everything together works best for me. The taste will be enhanced by the right amount of vanilla so taste until it suits you. This is a good base for other desserts so this recipe is a keeper for me. Modern cooks could turn this into chocolate cream pie by adding a square of chocolate or add coconut or banana for those versions of cream pie.

CREAM PIE
1 egg, 1/2 cup of sugar, 1 teaspoon of butter, 1 tablespoon of flour, 1 cup of milk. Flavor with vanilla.

This entry was posted in Cooking, Dessert, Food History, Kitchener, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Day 299 Cream Pie

  1. cindy knoke says:

    This looks incredible!

Leave a Reply

