Day 298 Fried Squashes

I am not sure what sort of squash is to be used with Mrs. Welker’s recipe for Fried Squash in the 1906 Berlin Cook Book. Although zucchini was likely unknown in Waterloo County in 1906 there were other summer squashes like yellow crook neck that could be used but I wonder if a squash like butternut or acorn could also be used. I don’t have any summer squash and it is late in the season for them anyway so I’m going to use a bit of a winter squash.

Slices of squash salted and awaiting their egg dip.

I cut a section of squash and peeled the skin before cutting thin slices. I was supposed to sprinkle each slice with salt and leave it to sit but I forgot at first. I fried a couple before I remembered. I cracked an egg into a wide bowl and whipped it with a fork. I melted some butter in a frying pan and got it hot before dipping a squash slice in the beaten egg. I quickly placed the dipped slice in the frying pan and continued until all the slices were dipped. I turned each slice as it became brown on one side. This took just a few minutes on each side.

I’m wondering if Mrs. Welker might be Fanny Feick who married Frank E. Welker. They lived in Wallace in nearby Wellington County for the 1901 census and where Frank is a farmer. There are many Welker families nearby. According to a Normanby township website the couple married at Normanby Evangelical church in March 1895. By the 1911 census Frank is living in Woolwich township in Waterloo County… but Fanny is gone! He is living with their 12-year-old son Wilfrid and is a general merchant. According to the Waterloo Generations website Fanny died age 35 on March 28 1910.  Sadly her son died in 1921 when he was just 23 years old. Her husband Frank was 96 when he died!

Slices of squash frying.

This is a quick way to prepare squash. The hardest part is peeling and slicing the squash. It is important to have thin slices. This recipe was probably intended for summer squash since the recipe doesn’t mention peeling. I put too much salt on the slices so I preferred the taste of the first pieces when I forgot that step. Since egg is not my favourite flavour I also tried simply frying the slice without egg. They all worked but the slices dipped in egg had a better texture. The no salt slices were good but those with salt had more flavour. I suggest experimenting with this recipe.

FRIED SQUASH
Cut the squash into thin slices and sprinkle it with salt, let it stand a few moments, then beat 2 eggs and dip the squash into the egg, then fry it brown in butter.

This entry was posted in Cooking, Food History, Kitchener, Uncategorized, Vegetables and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Day 298 Fried Squashes

  1. snati001 says:

    Making me hungry. My dad plants a lot of different squash so I will have to show him this recipe and maybe experiment with the squash types.

Leave a Reply

