Day 296 Gold Cake

Although yesterday’s rice pudding turned out well, I didn’t think it would be popular at tonight’s potluck supper so I made another dessert this morning. Of course the recipe had to come from the 1906 Berlin Cook Book. I decided to try Mrs. J. Krueger’s Gold Cake.

I creamed the butter and brown sugar and then separated the medium eggs. I added the yolks. That’s what gives the cake its name as the yolks provide the yellow colour. I mixed the baking powder and flour together  and then stirred it into the cake dough alternating with the milk. It was at this point that I began to suspect this was an unusual cake. This was no cake batter. Instead the texture is more like cookie dough. I pressed the dough into a greased square cake pan and baked the cake for 30 minutes at 350 degrees F.

I’m not sure who Mrs. J. Kreuger is as there are a couple of possibilities and most don’t list a wife’s name.

This is a very odd cake so I’m having difficulty describing it. It is a very dense sweet cake – almost like a large cookie. I liked it and so did several of the “Quilting Aunties” and their children but it didn’t appeal to everyone. It is best iced as the top was a bit scruffy looking.

GOLD CAKE
2 cups light brown sugar, yolks of 4 eggs, 1/4 cup butter, 1/2 cup sweet milk, 3 tablespoons baking powder, 3 cups flour.

This entry was posted in Cake, Cooking, Food History, Kitchener, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

