Day 295 German Rice Pudding

Tomorrow I’m getting together with some of the people I worked with at the former Seagram museum so it is a good time to make German Rice Pudding. Mrs. E. F. Seagram contributed the recipe for the 1906 Berlin Cook Book.

I wasn’t sure if there was any significance to the term Carolina rice. I assumed it meant rice from North or South Carolina. It turns out that Carolina rice is a specific type of long grain rice. I’m going to use regular long grain rice but I’ll keep an eye out for this special type. The rest of the ingredients are familiar.

I weighed the various ingredients using my kitchen scale. I started by putting 2 cups (1 pint) of 2% milk in a large saucepan and adding 3/4 cups (1/4 pound) long grain rice. I kept the heat at medium and tried to determine how long to boil the rice and avoid scorching. I covered the saucepan and I think it took about 20 minutes for the rice to become soft. I stirred occasionally.

Once the rice was soft I added the 3/4 cups (1/4 pound)sugar. I accidentally added a bit too much butter. It should have been about 1/4 cup (2 ounces) butter. I’m hoping the extra butter won’t affect the end result. Next I weighed the chopped almonds and found that 1/4 pound was 1 cup. I separated the eggs and mixed in the yolks. I beat the whites and folded them into the mixture. I greased custard cups and individual souffle cups and spooned in the mixture. I put the cups in a baking pan with water and put everything into the oven at 325 degrees F. for one hour.

Toronto born Edna Irvine MacLaughlin (or MacLauchlin) became Mrs. E. F. Seagram when she married Edward Frowde Seagram in 1902. I found the marriage date based on information from the Wellington County Genealogy Branch. Edward was raised in a household with a butler and cook. In 1901, she was living with her parents and four younger brothers in Guelph. Her father was from Scotland and her mother from Denmark. Her father was a commercial traveller. I wonder how Edna and Edward met?

By 1911 Edna has four living children and the help of a governess and two domestics at their home on King Street in Waterloo. According to the website “Find a Grave” another child was born in 1909 but died when he was two weeks old. On a more positive note I discovered tonight that Edna and Edward wrote a children’s book called the Air King’s Treasure: A Story of Adventure with Airship and Aeroplane that was published in 1913.

Mrs. Seagram’s German Rice Pudding – fresh from the oven

The pudding is a very nice rice pudding. I tried some before it was baked and liked it so I was curious to taste it baked. It is interesting combination of soft rice and crunchy almondsI liked it as the top is a bit like meringue. I think the only problem is the almonds. They’d be better toasted. I think a modern cook could experiment by substituting raisins for the almonds. This recipe is a keeper.

GERMAN RICE PUDDING
1/4 pound Carolina rice, 1/4 pound sugar, 1/4 pound chopped almonds, 3 eggs, 2 ounces butter, 1/ teaspoon vanilla, 1 pint milk. Boil the rice in the milk until soft, add sugar, butter, almonds and yolks of eggs, lastly the well beaten whites. Pour into buttered moulds and bake in pan of water for 1 hour.

This entry was posted in Cooking, Dessert, Food History, Kitchener, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

