Day 256 Baked Apples

This shows the size of apple I used for Baked Apples.

I’d planned to use this recipe on a blustery cold day but the combination of a lovely fall day and some ready to use apples also begs for Baked Apples. The recipe contributor is listed as M. O. but I think this is short for Meda Oberlander the prolific contributor and probable motivator of the 1906 Berlin Cook Book.

There were all sorts of apple related tools available in 1906. Now that I have my resources back in the house, I can check reproduction catalogues and other recipe books from the era. There were a huge variety of apple peelers and several types of devices to core apples. Peelers and corers are still available. I chose to use the basic method — paring knife — to core my apples.

Preparing Baked Apples

Recipes like this are so flexible when it comes to amounts so you can make one baked apple or twenty depending on your needs. I prepared four apples since mine were quite small. I wiped and cored them before placing in a baking pan. I put the butter in the cored apple and then filled with brown sugar. I added the water and baked in the oven at 400 degrees F. for 40 minutes. Adjust the time for the size of apple but also the texture you prefer. This produced a soft apple but not one that was falling apart.

Meda Oberlander was the unmarried (spinster) sister of a minister. Her brother was a minister at St. Peter’s Lutheran church in Berlin (Kitchener).

These are the classic baked apples. This is the way I grew up making baked apples. The only surprising thing is finding this recipe in the preserves section of the cook book. I also missed the usual cinnamon in my baked apple. I also recommend using less water if you have fewer apples and a deeper baking dish. Mine were swimming in sugar water.

Baked Apples

BAKED APPLES
Wipe apples, take out core, leaving apple whole, place in a shallow baking pan, filling each apple in centre with brown sugar and a little piece of butter, pour 1 cup of water in pan to prevent apples burning.

This entry was posted in Cooking, Dessert, Food History, Kitchener, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

