Day 291 Cheese Straws

The last time I made Cheese Straws from the cheese section of the 1906 Berlin Cook Book, my journey with my house was only beginning. On April 24 I made Mrs. Hoffman’s version of cheese straws. Tonight I am using Mrs. R. Fleishauer’s recipe and for much the same reason. It is late and I am tired from preparing to have some furniture moved around my house and some more painting done in the kitchen.

I decided to make half the recipe so I measured half a cup of flour into a bowl and added a cup of cheese, half a tablespoon of butter, 1/2 teaspoon baking powder and a tiny bit of salt. I lost count after 5 tablespoons of water but a few more created a nice dough. I rolled out pieces and put them on a greased pan. They baked for 10 minutes at 400 degrees F. and then I started checking on them. Depending on the thickness of the cheese straw they are likely to take about 15 minutes to bake.

Although there are people with the surname Fleischauer in the census and on the Waterloo Region Generations website I didn’t find any man with the first initial R. so Mrs. R. Fleischauer has to remain anonymous for now.

Cheese Straws fresh from the oven

These are good cheese straws. Be careful not to overbake them or roll them too thin or cut them too narrow. They are wonderfully cheesy and a tiny bit gooey fresh from the oven. I’m sure they are good cold too with salad but I couldn’t wait. This is one of the recipes that would be nice with the standard Berlin Cook Book cheese seasoning – cayenne pepper. It would take a very good cheese straw and make it even better.

CHEESE STRAWS
1 cup flour, 2 cups chopped cheese, 1 tablespoon butter, pinch salt, 1 scant teaspoon baking powder, mix with water and roll out like pie crust, cut in strips and bake a light brown. This is very nice with salad.

This entry was posted in Bread, Cooking, Food History, Kitchener, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

