Day 290 To Can Raspberries

I nearly forgot about this project and my blog today. That has hardly ever happened during the past 290 days. I’ve been so focused on putting books on shelves and clothes in the closet and cleaning the kitchen that I don’t have a clue what I should make from the 1906 Berlin Cook Book. At least tonight I have more choice since I can find most of my kitchen supplies and can use one of the stoves in the house however, I am looking for something quick. I have a half pint of raspberries (they were on sale at the grocery store) so I’m going to try Canned Raspberries in a test size using the recipe contributed by Mrs. D. Gross, Jr.

Step 1 in canning raspberries

I put the clean raspberries (1/4 pint or 1/2 cup) in a small canning jar til it was 3/4 full. I don’t have a shingle available so I’m using a cookie sheet. I put the jar of raspberries on the sheet and put it in the oven at 350 degrees F. I started checking on the raspberries after 15 minutes but they needed a total of 30 minutes for the juice to near the top of the berries.

While the berries were in the oven, I started making the “rich syrup”. I put a cup of sugar in a saucepan and add just 1/4 cup of water. I turned the heat on low and stirred until the sugar dissolved. I slowly turned up the heat. Once the sugar syrup was boiling and thick I lowered the heat until the berries were ready. I poured the syrup in the jar until it was just below the rim of the jar. This used all my syrup. It is important to leave head space when canning. I sterilized the lid and ring and quickly sealed the jar. I used modern canning jars since my period jars were too large.

It is helpful that Mrs. D. Gross, Jr. included the junior in her name. There are two men named David Gross listed in the Waterloo Region Generations website. The younger is married to Louise Rommel. Their son was ten when the cook book was published. In the 1911 census the couple are in their early 40s and their son is 14.

Raspberries in Syrup ready for canning

The raspberries look nice and the house smells wonderful. I love the aroma of raspberries and I am looking forward to eventually tasting these canned raspberries. This is another flexible recipes perfect for beginners and experts and for small or large amounts of raspberries.

TO CAN RASPBERRIES
Fill your jars 3/4 full of berries, put a shingle in the oven, set your jars in the oven, bake until the juice is nearly to the top of the berries, pour over them a very rich boiling syrup, seal perfectly tight.

This entry was posted in Cooking, Food History, Kitchener, Preserves, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

