Day 289 Baked Eggs

Well, here I am using another recipe from Mrs. H. D. McKellar and it is focused on eggs — Baked Eggs. I was looking in the 1906 Berlin Cook Book for something quick and easy to make today as I’m continuing to unpack and reset my house.

I made another Baked Eggs recipe in June but this one has some extras that I think will make it taste better, or at least provide another flavour other than egg. This is a great recipe since I can easily make just one sample.

I buttered a small dish and added whipping cream as it was the only type I had on hand. I added the bread crumbs, salt and pepper. I grated a bit of onion since I don’t have any onion juice. I added a bit  of sage to the dish since the recipe suggests adding sweet herbs or seasonings. I cracked a medium egg into the dish and added some cream soaked crumbs on top. I set the dish in the oven at 400 degrees F. and started checking the egg after 10 minutes. The top of the egg is covered in crumbs so it is difficult to tell if the egg white is set. I pulled the dish out after 15 minutes and the yolk was still runny but the white was beginning to set. Since each egg is cooked separately you could provide each diner with their prefered egg.

Mrs. McKellar (Olga Rumpel) contributed a lot of recipes to the cook book but unlike some of the women her recipes are found in all sorts of categories. She had several small children but she was also had some domestic help so perhaps she was part of planning this cook book.

The recipe is so flexible you’ll probably be able to create a version of baked eggs appealing to your and your family or guests. The addition of sage means my version was a bit like eggs with stuffing. I liked the stuffing part but I could still tell I was eating an egg. Perfect for egg lovers and a possible way to get someone to try eggs. I’m not sure who in the McKeller  household ate baked eggs. Is this a family meal or a supper for the children or part of a luncheon for Olga’s (Mrs. McKeller) female friends?

BAKED EGGS
Thickly butter individual dishes and put into each a spoonful of cream, one teaspoonful of bread crumbs, a dash of salt and pepper and a drop or two of onion juice; drop into each a raw egg; sprinkle with a few more crumbs, soaked in cream, and place in a hot oven until the eggs are set. To the mixture in the dishes may be added at pleasure a sweet herbs or seasonings desired, or a spoonful of chopped cold meat.

This entry was posted in Cooking, Food History, Kitchener, Main, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

