Day 286 Rasberry Cream

Today my belongings came home. For the past six months almost all my furniture and most of my belongings have been in storage while my house was put back together. I have been looking forward to having my reference material available. I’ll have to wait a bit longer as apparently I have sixty boxes of books and they are in that mass of boxes.

I had some difficulty finding a recipe to make today as my kitchens are in turmoil. The one I’ve been using lately is blocked off with bedroom furniture which is destined for a room with a freshly painted floor. Tomorrow night I can move those things. The stove is still blocked off in the other kitchen although I can reach the microwave, fridge and part of the sink now.

I decided to make Rasberry [sic] Cream as I have some fresh raspberries I bought at a berry farm in Bayfield on the Thanksgiving weekend. The recipe was contributed by Mrs. H. D. McK. for the 1906 Berlin Cook Book. It is in the Creams and Ices section of the cook book.  Unfortunately, to make this recipe today I have to use one modern piece of equipment — the microwave — as it is the only way I can heat milk without a stove.

I mashed a pint (2 cups) of raspberries and added the icing sugar (powdered sugar). While the berries macerated (soaked up the sugar and released their juices) for the next half hour, I continued unpacking boxes. Next I soaked two envelopes of Knox gelatine in 1/2 cup of cold water. Two envelopes are half the Knox box in 2012 and it appears to be the appropriate amount for 1906 too. While it soaked I heated the milk in the microwave (30 seconds, stir, and another 30 seconds). I poured the milk in a bowl and added the granulated sugar. I stirred and then added the gelatine. It appeared to dissolve well. I started sieving the raspberries. Some seeds ended up in with the nice raspberry pulp and I decided not to worry about it. I added the strained raspberry to the milk mixture and stirred. It appeared to curdle and I couldn’t stir it smooth. I put it in the modern icebox (the fridge) to cool.

Mrs. H. D. McK. is Mrs. Harry Dale McKellar. I just talked about her a few days ago when I made fritters on day 281 . Normally I don’t use recipes from the same person within the same week if I can help it. However, there were extenuating circumstances today.

The raspberry cream has started tot thicken and I expect it to become more like gelatine later but the colour is a little off-putting and so is the texture at the moment. The curdled milk affects the texture but the flavour of this dessert is very nice. The flavour of raspberry dominates and it isn’t too sweet. I’ll try this one again if I can find a way to avoid curdling. I wonder if the milk was too warm or if I didn’t have enough gelatine. Maybe I need to use milk with a higher fat content instead of 1 percent. This really isn’t a dessert for a cool fall evening but it would be wonderful on a hot summer day in 1906 and in the 21st century too.

RASBERRY CREAM
Mash 1 pint of washed berries, add 1 tablespoon of powdered sugar, let stand for 1/2 hour, then rub through a sieve. Scald 1 cup of milk, add 3 tablespoons of sugar and 1/2 of a box of gelatine, which has been soaked in 1/2 of a cup of cold water. Stir until dissolved and strain. When cool add the raspberry pulp, into a wetted mould. Serve garnished with whipped cream and fresh berries.

This entry was posted in Cooking, Dessert, Food History, Kitchener, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

