Day 281 Fritter Batter

It is now officially Thanksgiving weekend and Oktoberfest. It’s a popular time for the various farmers markets. A favourite stop locally is for apple fritters. I thought it was time to try another of the fried recipes in the 1906 Berlin Cook Book since I have the fat left from yesterday and fritters make a quick dessert. I decided to try Mrs. H. D. McKellar’s Fritter Batter as it can be used for any sort of fruit.

I mixed the dry ingedients first (flour, icing sugar and salt). After beating the egg I added the milk and slowly added it to the dry ingredients. Mixing just half the milk first allows the dough to become stretchy before adding the rest of the milk. I let it sit for an hour. I decided to make apple fritters so I peeled and cored one of the small apples. I cut it into slices and dipped them into the fritter batter. I’d already started heating the shortening in the pan. I took my usual precautions with deep fat frying. The batter around the apple slice began to puff up a bit. I tried deep-frying a bit of the plain batter too. Once everything was browned I removed it from the fat to drain before sampling.

Mrs. McKellar is part of the Rumpel family mentioned a few days ago. Olga Rumpel married Harry Dales McKellar in 1902 and they had four children born in 1904, 1906, 1908 and 1910. Harry worked in the family felt business. This recipe must have been a favourite for the children. It doesn’t make a huge quantity but enough for  bit of a treat.

The fritter batter is a bit different from some of the others. This isn’t like a cake or doughnut. It reminds me a bit of tempura batter only chewier. It isn’t sweet so it could work for deep-frying almost anything. It was very good with the apples. They became soft inside. A little icing sugar on top and these would make a nice Thanksgiving treat in the evening or for breakfast.

FRITTER BATTER
3/4 cup flour, 1 teaspoon powdered sugar, 1/2 teaspoon of salt. Beat 1 egg without separating white from yolk, add 1/2 cup of milk and very gradually beat the liquid into dry ingredients, when about 1/2 the milk has been used, beat the mixture thoroughly. Then continue adding milk. Let batter stand an hour or more before using.

This entry was posted in Cooking, Dessert, Food History, Kitchener, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

