Day 278 Turkish Delight

I decided to make some candy tonight as a bit of a celebration as today it is six months since my home was turned upside down. However, the end is in sight. I’m never sure if I will like Turkish Delight but the recipe G. Debus contributed to the 1906 Berlin Cook Book looks like it will be good.

I began by trying to determine the amount of gelatine in a “package”. I had three envelopes available to me and decided to use them all. The Knox gelatine package says one envelope for 1/4 cup but I won’t be adding as much water later as the package suggests. So here goes: I put one cup of cold water in a saucepan and sprinkled three envelopes of gelatine on top and then stirred. I left it to sit for about 10 minutes until it was dissolved. Now scroll down and read the recipe. What do you think? Do I boil the gelatine and water for 20 minutes before adding everything else? That’s what I did with some misgivings. My gelatine smelled unpleasant by the end of that treatment but was very liquid. I added the sugar, grated peels and walnuts. I decided to boil this mixture for 20 minutes as I couldn’t figure out how the sugar would dissolve otherwise. Normally it is the soaked gelatine and water that are boiled. I didn’t think of that when I was boiling just the gelatine.

I prepared a pan by dipping it in cold water. The texture seemed right as I poured the turkish delight into the pan but it looked odd. The colour was darker than I expected. I’m not sure if that is due to overcooked gelatine or the brown walnuts. I let it sit and then tried tasting.

Miss Georgina Maude Debus seems to have enjoyed contributing interesting and different recipes for the Berlin Cook Book. This is the sixth one I’ve tried. She eventually became a nurse.  She also contributed a recipe for Marshmallows which are made much the same way as Turkish Delight. I wonder if she had a sweet tooth or if she was making these for others.

This is supposed to be Turkish Delight

How to describe this Turkish Delight? I guess it depends on whether I made it correctly or not. It doesn’t taste horrible and yet it doesn’t taste particularly good either. I can’t say it is a nothing taste as it tastes of sugar with hints of citrus but not enough to really know that it is lemon/orange. I wish I had others around today to taste it too. Could they tell it had orange and lemon peel? The walnuts give some flavour. It hasn’t set up yet so I think something went wrong. Not enough gelatine? Cooked too long? Not enough? I’ll try this recipe again sometime simply because it has potential and I’m a bit stubborn (well a lot stubborn). I want to see this turn out.

TURKISH DELIGHT
1 package of gelatine, one cup of cold water, 2 cups of granulated sugar, 1/2 cup of water, grated rind of one lemon and 1 orange, 3 tablespoons finely chopped nuts. Soak gelatine, boil 20 minutes, add other ingredients, pour in cold, wet moulds. When set, cut in squares and roll in powdered sugar.

This entry was posted in Candy, Cooking, Food History, Kitchener, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Day 278 Turkish Delight

  1. I admire stubborness. I detest Turkish delight. It was interesting to read how you make the stuff. I’ve never intentionally tried to make candy, so it’s a curiousity to me. Unlike much of what you’ve written about this year, this is something I will not be trying. It is gluten free though.

Leave a Reply

