Day 277 Apple Pudding

I am not feeling all that well today so I looked for a simple recipe. Perhaps it is the hints of cooler weather to come and feeling under the weather myself but Mrs. Chas. Adloff’s recipe for Apple Pudding appealed to me today. It is found in the Pudding section of the 1906 Berlin Cook Book.

I bought some cooking apples at the Kitchener Market on Saturday. They are the sort of nameless variety found in backyards and farm orchards. This type was small about the size of Macintosh apples when I was a child. I peeled and cut two apples into quarters before putting them in a small casserole dish. I sprinkled one tablespoon of sugar on top and added three tablespoons of water before baking in the oven at 400 degrees F. for 20 minutes. While the apples baked I mixed the other ingredients. I creamed butter and sugar before adding the egg. Next I mixed in the milk, baking powder and flour. This made a very nice cake type batter. This makes more batter than needed for just two apples. I think it would cover at least four or six apples. I decided to go ahead and use all the batter (after all it tasted good). I poured it over the baked apple pieces and returned it to the oven at the same temperature for 30 minutes.

Mrs. Charles Adloff contributed quite a number of recipes to the cook book. She’s Sophia Hopp the second wife of Charles Adloff and they’d only been married five years when the cook book was published. She’d worked in a factory before marriage. Charles’ daughter was 15 when her father married Sophia. Charles was born in Germany and so were Sophia’s parents but this is not a dessert I think of as German. In fact I think of it as “Canadian”.

Apple pudding appears to be exactly what I needed today. It is easy to make, tastes good, satisfies my sweet tooth and is classic comfort food. It is part of the family of desserts called bettys or buckles. Often it is a tea biscuit type batter on top but this sort of cake type is also used. With my sweet tooth the cake type is my favourite. I highly recommend apple pudding as a winter dessert for family or unexpected company. You can stretch it and probably use other fruit too. Perhaps sprinkling brown sugar on top of the apples instead of white would make it even better. I liked eating it hot but it could be served cold. Ice cream or whipped cream or the suggested milk will make it even more special and comforting. Now if only I could stay awake long enough to finish my serving.

APPLE PUDDING

Peel and cut apples in quarters, Put in a dish with sugar and water, then bake; when soft add 1 cup of white sugar, 1 tablespoon butter, 1 egg, 1/2 cup sweet milk, cup flour, 1 teaspoon baking powder; mix the above, then pour over apples and bake again. Serve with milk.

This entry was posted in Cooking, Dessert, Food History, Kitchener, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

