Day 275 Tea Biscuits

I had a busy day today preparing the house for further work tomorrow. There always seems to be more to do on the house before they can bring back my belongings and free up my kitchen. I selected this recipe since I’m tired and it has been a while since I made tea biscuits. I decided to try Mrs. Cressman’s Tea Biscuits – one of several tea biscuit recipes in the 1906 Berlin Cook Book.

I measured 4 cups (1 quart) of flour and had to skip sifting since I can’t find my sifter. I simply stirred in the baking powder ensuring it was well mixed before rubbing in the tablespoon of butter. Unfortunately I forgot to keep track of the quantity of milk needed for this recipe. Once the mixture would stick together I rolled out the dough. It is interesting that they are to be cut into squares as the usual custom is circles. I baked them at 400 degrees F. for 15 minutes. Of course, I sampled them with some butter and jam.

Sadly Mrs. Cressman has to remain a mystery as there are just too many possibilities in Berlin and outside the town too. This was a common surname in the area and without at least an initial of her husband’s first name it provides far too many entries.

The tea biscuits were okay but just okay. The most interesting thing about them is the shape. Otherwise this is just a basic tea biscuit. Keep the squares small. I tried a larger square and it didn’t bake well. I do like the idea of a square tea biscuit.

TEA BISCUITS

1 quart flour, 3 teaspoons baking powder sifted well into the flour, rub a tablespoon butter into the flour, mix with sweet milk or water to make a soft dough, so it can be rolled on a well floured board. Roll about an inch thick and cut into squares. Bake immediately in a quick oven 15 minutes.

This entry was posted in Bread, Cooking, Food History, Kitchener, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

