Day 260 Omelet

I decided it was time to try another of the omelet recipes found in the 1906 Berlin Cook Book. This one is simply called Omelet and was contributed by Mrs. George Baltzer. Although an omelet can be eaten any time I associate them with weekends in our modern time (despite that I don’t eat them normally).

I soaked the bread crumbs in milk while I separated the eggs. I beat the yolks and then mixed them with the milky crumbs. I beat the egg whites and folded them into the mixture. I added a bit of salt and melted some butter in a frying pan. I poured the egg mixture into the frying pan and let it cook gently until the centre was starting to firm up. I couldn’t remove the entire omelet so I just cut a portion to sample.

Mrs. George Baltzer contributed some other recipes. I imagine George and Mary L. (Penfold) Baltzer having this as a quick supper or lunch, perhaps when he came home from his office as an accountant.

I’m not sure of the purpose in adding bread crumbs to a basic omelet other than making it more stable. The omelet loses some of that fluffy texture but for me the bread helps cover the “eggy’ taste. I suppose it also stretches the eggs at a time of year when chickens might be laying fewer. My omelet had some crispy edges but was still difficult to fold. I might try this again as a modern cook and add some additional seasoning or perhaps some cheese. This might be a good technique if you want to add some watery ingredients such as spinach or other veggies to your omelet.

OMELET
Soak 1/2 cup bread crumbs in small cup of milk for a few minutes; 3 eggs, beat yolks and whites separately, mix the yolks with the bread and milk, stir in the whites, lightly, add salt. Fry in butter.

This entry was posted in Cooking, Food History, Kitchener, Main, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

