Day 246 Standard Cake

Cakes were a staple dessert in 1906 even if the weather was hot as it is today. I need to bake even on a hot day if I’m going to have any hope of entering the world of the women of the 1906 Berlin Cook Book. I decided to make Mrs. H. Graber’s Standard Cake today. It would be extremely unusual to bake a cake on a Sunday but I had already decided on the recipe before I remembered the day. Let’s imagine that the cake intended for tomorrow’s picnic was eaten and another is needed.

I creamed the butter and sugar and then added the two medium eggs. Next I added the flour, baking powder and milk. Finally I added the vanilla. I stirred the batter until smooth and then poured it into a greased cake pan. I baked the cake for forty minutes at 350 degrees F.

Mrs. Henry Graber contributed a number of recipes to the cook book and I’ve talked about her in earlier posts. Louisa Hopp had two children but she was one of seven children. Her parents were born in Germany but she and most of her siblings were born in Berlin Ontario. Her marriage to Henry was written up in the Berliner Journal the main German language newspaper in the area. The listing (in translation) states that Louisa Hopp of Berlin and Heinrich Graber of Galt were married in Preston by Pastor Wurster on April 12, 1883.

This is a very easy cake to make and it is quite good. There’s nothing exciting about it but it is moist and will probably keep well.

STANDARD CAKE
1/4 cup butter, 3/4 cup sugar, 2 eggs, 1/2 cup milk, 1 1/2 cups flour, 1 1/2 teaspoons baking powder, 1 1/2 teaspoons vanilla

This entry was posted in Cake, Cooking, Dessert, Food History, Kitchener, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Day 246 Standard Cake

  1. Desmond says:

    Nan had a “cake out of her head” she used to make that was very much like this. It wasn’t written down anywhere. We all loved it of course and it was often dressed up with other things (canned fruit or cream or both…I don’t remember custard at that grandmother’s, but that’s possible). Anyway, you’ve started me on a wheat longing this morning!

Leave a Reply

