Day 240 Cocoa Shake

My home repairs continue and I’ve decided to stay in a hotel during the installation of flooring. The smell is just too strong for me. There are two hotels in my neighbourhood and they are comparable in price. I decided to stay in the one with a long history in Kitchener/Berlin – The Walper Hotel http://www.walper.com. I’m staying in a room that existed when the 1906 Berlin Cook Book was published. There’s been a hotel in this location for a very long time but this particular building was built in 1893 after the previous hotel burned. Of course, there aren’t any cooking facilities in my room. I walked home only to discover that not only don’t I have a stove but I can’t access any foodstuffs. I was stumped. Kitchener 2012 doesn’t include any downtown stores with fresh produce unlike Berlin 1912.

My solution? I had my supper at the hotel coffee shop and ordered a hot chocolate to go so that I could make Cocoa Shake using my cup of cocoa and ice from the hotel. Not completely authentic but the best I can do today. The surprise is that this recipe is in the Invalid Cooking section of the cook book. There is no contributor listed.

I brought a canning jar from home and added crushed ice from the machine down the hall from my room. Next I added the slowly cooling cocoa, put on the lid and started shaking the jar. I didn’t add egg white. I poured it into a glass in the room and tasted.

My room was hot when I arrived after supper so this beverage was very refreshing. It’s been a long time since I had chocolate milk or a chocolate shake but this reminds me of chocolate milk. Imagine being sick and fevered on a hot summer day in 1906 and having sips of a cold glass of this cocoa shake. It would be so soothing on a sore throat. Lemonade or most of the other summer time drinks would be harsh but this would be “nourishing”, cool and perfect for a summer illness. I recommend this as a change from your usual cold summer beverage … at least once.

COCOA SHAKE
Prepare 1 cup cocoa as usual; using rich milk or cream, place in a covered glass jar with cracked ice and shake until foamy, then serve. (The white of an egg may be added.)

This entry was posted in Beverages, Cooking, Food History, Kitchener, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

