Day 239 Coffee Shake

I grew up on the Tenth Line. That’s probably a meaningless type of name unless you grew up in the countryside with its Number Two Sideroads and Sixth Lines. For the past 12 years there’s been a reunion of former and present residents of the Tenth Line. I was able to attend this year. What a feast. They don’t have the pig roast any more but there was fresh corn on the cob steamed in a big vat and all sorts of home-made salads, mains, and desserts. I still don’t have a stove so I couldn’t make a contribution this time but I was able to prepare a recipe from the 1906 Berlin Cook Book later in the evening with my family as testers. I don’t like coffee so I’d been avoiding making Coffee Shake until I was around some people who might appreciate the beverage. The recipe was contributed by Mrs. J. M. Staebler.

There always seems to be coffee sitting around at my parents. I set aside some for use in this recipe. I put one cup of milk in a shaker container and added a teaspoon of sugar and 1 tablespoon of coffee. I put in a two cubes of ice and started shaking. I poured the coffee shake into glasses for sampling. My parent’s cat Timbit seemed interested so she got a small dish too. It seemed appropriate since Timbit was once a stray kitten found outside a Tim Hortons — that Canadian centre for coffee and doughnuts (or timbits).

Timbit was the only taster who didn’t like the coffee shake. I liked the mild version while other tasters preferred adding a bit more coffee to the mix. I’m told it is like a McDonald’s Iced Coffee but not as good as a Tim Horton’s Iced Cap. It is refreshing. I was surprised to find this drink in the cook book. It seems so modern to me. It’s also incredibly easy to make so consider trying it if you want to cut down on trips to the fast food places for your hit of coffee on a hot summer day.

COFFEE SHAKE
Put into a quart glass jar, 1 cupful rich milk, 1 teaspoonful sugar, 1 tablespoonful cold, strong coffee and some coarsely cracked ice. Seal and shake vigorously until foam forms. Pour quickly into a glass and serve with foam on top.
The above receipt may be varied by using different flavoring, such as cocoa and vanilla.

This entry was posted in Beverages, Cooking, Food History, Kitchener, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

