Day 221 Cauliflower Omelet

It was so nice to come home to a house unchanged from when I left this morning. I was happy to see my stove in place. I might still have to go up and down two flights of stairs to gather supplies but it is good exercise. Today I decided to keep things simple and make Cauliflower Omelet. This recipe was another surprise find in the 1906 Berlin Cook Book. It was contributed by Mrs. H. C. Diebel.

Just like last time I found very large cauliflower at the Kitchener Market. I cooked just a small portion of it so there was plenty to try making cauliflower omelet. I boiled up about a cup of cauliflower in salted water and left it to cool. I chopped up the pieces very small and beat an egg well before mixing everything together. I put some butter in a saucepan since I’d forgotten the frying pan downstairs and didn’t feel like going down and up again. Once the butter melted I poured in the batter. It cooked quickly and was soon ready to taste.

Mrs. H. C. Diebel was Lydia Caroline Moebus before marrying Henry Conrad Diebel in 1894.  Their first child was born a few years later and another the following year. In 1911 they lived at 47 Scott Street. Lydia contributed sixteen recipes — most of them containing eggs and often a bit unusual. I’ve made several of her recipes already (Asparagus on Toast, Baked Eggs and Moonshine). I have no idea if her husband’s income as a painter was typical (his income isn’t listed) but she strikes me a frugal and imaginative cook. With two growing teens she probably needed to stretch food and use up leftovers.

I wasn’t sure what to expect when tasting cauliflower omelet. I imagined I’d taste egg and cauliflower but in this case the cauliflower flavour dominated. I didn’t even notice the egg and that is very unusual for me. Cauliflower falls low on my list of favourite vegetables but I would consider making this again if I had some leftover. A modern cook could have fun with this recipe adding some cheese, onion or seasonings. It is also very vegetarian friendly and quite filling. Once again it is quick and easy to make — just what a supper or lunch recipe should be like on a hot summer day in 1912. It is time to get out and enjoy an evening in the new city of Berlin Ontario!

CAULIFLOWER OMELET
Take the white part of a boiled cauliflower after it is cold, chop it very small, mix with a sufficient quantity of well beaten egg to make a very thick batter, fry in fresh butter and send to the table warm.

This entry was posted in Cooking, Food History, Kitchener, Main, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

