Day 218 Vegetable Salad

I’ve been wanting to make this salad from the first day I started this project but couldn’t figure out what time of year all these vegetables would be ready at the same time. Well, yesterday at the Kitchener Market I found every required vegetable was available from vendors selling local produce. I was able to buy local celery, onions, carrots, radishes and cabbage all at the same time so now I am ready to make Mrs. H. A. Germann’s Vegetable Salad from the 1906 Berlin Cook Book.

I made a smaller version of this salad but still had to guess at the amount of celery, radishes and cabbage since the amounts for these are not given. I chopped one onion and one carrot. I chopped about a cup of cabbage, one stalk of celery and one radish. I really wasn’t sure whether the dressing was to be cooked or not. Since I don’t have a stove right now I made it a no cook dressing. This means the egg is raw and the dressing is a bit thin looking.

I think the contributor of the recipe is Lenora Heller. She married Henry Allen Germann making her Mrs. H. A. Germann. The 1911 census shows 30-year-old Lenora, 33-year-old Henry and their two-year old daughter Louise living on Park Avenue in Waterloo Ontario. Henry is a salesman for dry goods store. His father became a hotel keeper. The 1901 census shows Henry living in the hotel with his parents, employees and guests/residents of the hotel. At the same time Leonora is living in Berlin Ontario with her widowed father — another hotel keeper! She’s working as a milliner.

This is the basic mixed vegetable salad I grew up with although we usually had leaf lettuce instead of cabbage and minus the onions as my father hated them. I’m not fond of the dressing. Once my stove is in the kitchen again instead of the living room I’ll try making it as a cooked dressing. That might improve it.

If nothing else this salad is an encouragement to get out to a market right now and experiment with seasonal vegetables. There is a whole world of good things growing nearby. I wanted to cry the other day when I was at the grocery store and watched the woman behind me putting cans of yellow beans on the checkout. I have nothing against canned beans — in the winter — but there were fresh yellow and green beans just a few steps away! I wonder if people did this in 1906? There were canned yellow and green beans then too.

VEGETABLE SALAD
Celery, 4 onions, 4 carrots, radishes, cabbage; chop fine, beat an egg, add a little milk, pepper and salt, a little lemon juice or vinegar, and nuts if you like. Serve on a lettuce leaf.

This entry was posted in Cooking, Food History, Kitchener, Salad, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

