Day 216 Lily Cake

A neighbour is away this weekend and is letting me use the stove as needed. I decided to make Lily Cake using one of the two recipes for this cake in the 1906 Berlin Cook Book. This recipe was contributed by Mrs. Harth.

I creamed the butter and sugar together before adding the cornstarch and milk. Next was the baking powder mixed with the flour and added to the batter. I separated the eggs and whipped up the whites with my dover beater. I took Mrs. Harth’s advice and added 1 teaspoon of orange extract to the batter. I greased a square cake pan and added the lily cake batter. The oven was preheated to 350 degrees F. and the cake baked for about 30 minutes (until firm and light brown on top).  It smelled wonderful as it baked and cooled.

Based on the 1901 census Mrs. Harth is Maggie 44-year-old wife of Martin (47). According to the Waterloo Region Generations website Maggie is actually Margaret Ward. They were married in 1874 and had nine children. She contributed quite a number of recipes despite the death of her husband in November 1905. Maggie (Margaret) is one of the many contributors to the cook book that I wish I could ask about her life.

Before I tasted the cake I made a basic butter icing to go on top. I put a tablespoon of soft butter in a bowl added a few drops of orange extract and yellow food colouring and then started stirring in icing sugar until I had a creamy mixture. I tasted and felt it needed another drop of flavouring. I spread this on the cake and then cut a piece. This is a great cake with or without icing. The texture is firm but not too dense. I think it will keep well but I’m not taking a chance. It is just too tempting to eat so I’m leaving it for the household’s teen/twenties children to enjoy while their parents are away. Well, I’ll have one more piece before I leave… just to make sure it is as good now.

LILY CAKE
1 cup of sugar and 1/2 cup of butter, beaten to a cream and 1/2 cup sweet milk, 1/2 cup of corn starch, 1 cup and 1/2 of flour, 1 teaspoon baking powder, last of all add the whites of 3 eggs, flavor to suit the taste, yellow frostings and orange extract or flavoring make the cake very nice.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

