Day 215 Nut Sandwiches

Hurrah! I’m back in my house but since my stove is sitting in my living room I needed to find another no cook recipe in the 1906 Berlin Cook Book. I also can’t locate my computer so am using a back up laptop. I selected Mrs. G. Bergmann’s recipe for Nut Sandwiches as today’s attempt to transport back to the time when the town of Berlin became a city.

I took 1/2 cup of chopped walnuts and added some mayonnaise.  I stirred it well and spread it on a slice of whole wheat bread. It didn’t look particularly appealing but I went ahead and topped it with the second slice of bread.

Mrs. G. Bergmann is likely Anna Bergman listed in the 1901 census as 26 years old. Her 29-year-old husband George was a tailor. They had a four-year old daughter. Sometime between 1906 and 1911 the family moved to Chatham (a community near Windsor Ontario) where George continued as a tailor working on commission. The family lived on Wellington Street there.

I tasted the Nut Sandwich and it was surprisingly good. I’m not sure I’d bother making it again but perhaps another type of nut and dressing would make it more interesting.

NUT SANDWICHES
1 cup of peanuts, almonds or walnuts chopped fine, add enough salad dressing to make them stick together. Prepare same as cheese sandwich.

This entry was posted in Food History, Kitchener, Main, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

