Day 208 Cocoanut Kisses

I thought it would be easy to make Cocoanut Kisses today but the recipe was slightly more complex than I expected. It was contributed by Mrs. A. W. Merner for the 1906 Berlin Cook Book. I stopped by my house tonight before busing to my home away from home so I was able to bring a few more ingredients like a container of cocoanut.

I decided to make half the recipe so I started by separating two medium eggs. I used my dover style egg beater to whip the egg whites. I curious what women in 1906 did with all these egg yolks left from making recipes like this. Once the whites were whipped I added 1/2 cup of sugar. I decided the best method to “beat over steam” was to set up a sort of double boiler. I put my bowl of whites and sugar over a pot of boiling water. I kept stirring but was unsure how to judge when it “forms a crust” but decided I’d know it when I saw it. I did. The edges of the mixture started to get hard. I removed it from the heat and added 1/8 cup of cornstarch, 1/2 teaspoon vanilla and 1 cup unsweetened cocoanut.  I put some parchment paper on a cookie sheet and dropped teaspoons of the mixture. I baked them in the oven set to 350 degrees F. and started checking them after 10 minutes. My friend told me her oven ran hot so the temperature was fine. You might want to turn up the heat just a little to reach a “quick” oven. Remove from the parchment while warm.

Mrs. A. W. Merner is Ludwina (Lavina) Margaret Zimmerman. She married Alexander Walter Merner and they had two daughters.  In 1911 they live at 11 Alma Street. Alexander is of Swiss descent while Ludwina has German ancestry. He works in the Registry Office and she was a servant before marriage.

These little meringue bites are great if you like cocoanut. I liked them but I think I’d use just a little less cocoanut. You do have to watch them as they can burn in a moment.

COCOANUT KISSES
Whip well the whites of 4 eggs, 1 cup white sugar, then beat over steam till it forms a crust, then take off nad add 1/4 cup cornstarch, 1 teaspoon vanilla, 2 cups cocoanut, put on buttered paper and bake in a quick oven.

This entry was posted in Cookies, Cooking, Food History, Kitchener, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Day 208 Cocoanut Kisses

  1. Desmond says:

    I think Eleanor Brent makes something like this at Christmastime. Incidentally, they’re gluten free.

Leave a Reply

