Day 206 Scalloped Cauliflower

The cauliflower are huge this year. At least they were enormous at the Kitchener Market on Saturday. I bought one and decided tonight I had to make a dent in it. I cooked a small part of it so that I could make Scalloped Cauliflower. The recipe in the 1906 Berlin Cook Book was contributed by Laura Bornhold. I was really surprised when I found recipes using cauliflower in this cook book. I’m not sure why I thought it was a more modern vegetable. I suppose because they are so difficult to grow here. However, this is one of four cauliflower recipes.

I began by boiling some cauliflower and letting it cool. Next I made the white sauce by melting the butter and then adding the flour. Once that was well blended I slowly added the milk. I stirred over medium heat until it was thick and then added the salt and pepper. I mixed in the cauliflower and poured it into a baking dish. I sprinkled it with the bread crumbs and baked in a 350 degree oven for 30 minutes.

Laura Henrietta Bornhold was 28 years old when the cook book was published. She contributed several recipes. She later married but at this time in her life she worked as a seamstress.

This sort of recipe might be familiar to some of you. Add some cheese to that white sauce and this is the way I grew up eating cauliflower. As usual it is fine on its own but not very exciting. A modern cook will know to add a bit more seasoning and play with additional flavours. However, this recipe would be very familiar at the turn of the 20th century. White sauces were all the rage and it would be acceptable to serve this with mashed potatoes and chicken. In a few years the all white meal would become fashionable!

SCALLOPED CAULIFLOWER
2 cups cold cooked cauliflower, 1 cup white sauce, 1/2 cup buttered bread crumbs
White Sauce
1 cup milk, 2 tablespoons flour, 2 tablespoons butter, 1/2 teaspoon salt, pepper. Make a white sauce and add to it the cauliflower; pour into a baking dish and cover with buttered bread crumbs and bake in a hot oven until crumbs are a golden brown.

This entry was posted in Cooking, Food History, Kitchener, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

