Day 205 Peach Sponge

I bought some peaches at the market on Saturday and today it was obvious that I had to use them soon. I decided to try Mrs. Carl Kranz’ recipe for Peach Sponge in the 1906 Berlin Cook Book. It turns out that 1 pound of peaches is not very much so watch for at least one more peach recipe this week.

I started by soaking two envelopes of Knox’s gelatine in 1/2 cup of cold water. While it soaked I weighed the peaches and discovered that 1 pound equalled just three large peaches. They were easy to peel with a paring knife. I cut them into pieces and set them aside while I made the syrup of two cups (1 pound) of sugar and 1 cup (1/2 pint) of water in a saucepan on the stove. I am taking care of a friend’s home and creatures while they are away for a week so I was in a 1930’s era home using a 1958 stove making a 1906 recipe. Although I can reach my own stove I have to cook from the side so it is nice to use a stove in a normal fashion. This house also has minimal counter space so I felt right at home.

After the sugar and water had boiled for a minute, I added the chopped peaches and cooked for two minutes. I took the pot off the burner and squeezed in the juice of a lemon. I set the squeezed portion aside to use later. I stirred up the gelatine mixture and slowly added it to the hot peaches. While it cooled I separated three eggs and whipped up the whites. Once the peach mixture was a bit cooler I folded in the beaten egg whites and poured it into a bowl before setting it in the fridge.

I started the sauce next. I mixed the three egg yolks, two cups of milk, four tablespoons of sugar and grated lemon rind together.   I separated one more egg and added the yolk to the mixture before heating it in the saucepan. Once it thickened a bit I set it to cool too. Finally it was time to taste everything.

It is possible that Mrs. Carl Kranz is Catherine Seip widowed wife of MPP Carl Kranz but she is on the older end for a contributor. |She was born in 1846 and died in 1915. It is more likely that the contributor is Anna Alberta Bingham as she would have been 36 when the cook book was published. There is also Emilina Kranz who is listed in the 1911 census as the wife of a Karl Kranz.

Peach Sponge is a bit like lemon and orange snow. The sauce is essentially a custard. Like the snows, this recipe has raw egg white so use caution. I’m not sure if I would make this again.  I think there are better ways to use peaches.

PEACH SPONGE
Pear [sic] and stone 1 pound peaches, boil together 1 pound of sugar, and 1/2 a pint of water for just one minute, skim and add peaches, cook 2 minutes, take off the stove and add juice of 1 lemon, and then stir in 1/2 a box of Knox’s gelatine (which has been soaked in 1/2 a cup of cold water for 15 minutes), until the mixture begins to congeal, then fold in the well beaten whites of 3 eggs, turn into a mould, and seve with the following sauce.

Sauce — 1 pint of milk, the yolks of 4 eggs, 4 tablespoons of sugar, and grated rid of 1 lemon.

This entry was posted in Cooking, Food History, Kitchener, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

