Day 200 Sultan Roll Frozen Pudding

Two hundred days and 200 posts. It doesn’t seem possible that I’ve reach this point. To celebrate this moment and the ongoing recovery of my house I thought I’d make something special. Although I have some access to my kitchen I didn’t want to attempt anything too elaborate. I am making Sultan Roll Frozen Pudding using Mrs. T. E. McLelan’s recipe in the 1906 Berlin Cook Book.

I cut the recipe in half to make if more manageable so I whipped two cups of whipping cream rather than the 4 cups needed for the full recipe. Once the cream was whipped I added 1/4 cup of sugar, 1/4 cup of sultana raisins and 1/8 cup of walnuts. I tasted the mixture at this point and forgot to add wine or brandy. Candied cherries would have looked nice but I don’t have any easily accessible at the moment. I am lucky in 2012. I put my bowl of whipped cream, sugar, raisins and walnuts into the freezer. In 1906 Mrs. McLelan would need a quantity of ice and salt in order to freeze this pudding for 2 hours.

Mrs. T. E. McLelan is probably Margaret Lillico McDougall the wife of Thomas E. McLellan a druggist in Galt (now part of Cambridge) Ontario. In both the 1901 census and the 1911 census the family includes the couple, their two boys, and Margaret (Maggie)’s mother Ellen McDougal(l).  In the 1911 census the family lives at 121 Concession in Galt. I’m still baffled as to how this Presbyterian family from nearby Galt became involved in a community cook book project in Berlin Ontario.

I’m also stumped by the name Sultan Roll Frozen Pudding. I imagine the roll refers to freezing it in a tube-like mould or a loaf pan so that it could be sliced. I have no idea why it is called a sultan roll unless the “a” is missing and it refers to sultana raisins? What I can tell you is to try making this dessert if you like cold whipped cream. The unexpected addition of raisins and walnuts make it a bit more substantial but it is still a light dessert … well if you can take the calories, fat, and cholesterol of 35% cream. A modern cook could have fun experimenting with this easy dessert. It certainly needs more colour, and a bit more flavour in the cream would be nice. Perhaps if I’d added the wine or sherry the cream would have more life.

SULTAN ROLL FROZEN PUDDING
1 quart sweet cream, 1/2 cup sugar, 1/2 cup sultana raisins,1/4 cup rolled walnuts. Flavor with wine or brandy, add candied cherries if wished. Whip the cream very stiff, add the other ingredients, put into mould and freeze for 2 hours. Turn out and slice.

This entry was posted in Cooking, Food History, Kitchener, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Day 200 Sultan Roll Frozen Pudding

  1. Laurie says:

    Congratulations on 200 days with the Berlin Cookbook!

Leave a Reply

