Day 198 Cheese Scallop

Today I have access to my stove again and since I don’t know how long this will last I decided to use it despite the heat. However, my pantry has been blocked off so I still don’t have access to most of my staples. I decided to try making Miss Happel’s recipe for Cheese Scallop from the 1906 Berlin Cook Book.

As you are probably sick of hearing, I get sick eating dairy and can’t stand eggs, so this recipe is an odd choice for me. I decided to minimize the damage by making half the recipe. I soaked just over 1/2 cup of bread crumbs in some milk. Then I added 2 medium eggs, 1/2 tablespoon of butter and a cup of grated medium cheddar cheese. I stirred everything together and poured it into a baking dish. I sprinkled a little more cheese on top since I was out of bread crumbs. I baked it in a 350 degree oven for 15 minutes. I think it could have used a little more time but I was impatient and wanted to taste it (and get out of my partly mudded kitchen.

Fifty one year old Miss Annie Happel was listed as head of household in the 1911 census. She seems to have a number of lodgers living with her at 163 King Street. There are five single women as lodgers. They range in age from 19 to 34. She was born in Germany but all the lodgers were born in Ontario. Most are Lutheran but one is Mennonite while another is Brethern. One young woman is a book-keeper in a biscuit factory while the others work in a shirt factory mainly as seamstresses. Miss Happel had been a lodger herself in the 1901 census. At that point she lived with the Wood’s family.

I enjoyed tasting Miss Happel’s Cheese Scallop. It is a rather strange dish and probably not one for company but I can certainly imagine a houseful of single women enjoying this spread on bread. It stretches ingredients and was probably quite economical in 1906. It would also appeal to someone who finds it difficult to chew. I’m not sure how to describe the taste and texture. It is soft but has more body than a souffle. It is different from the Welsh Rarebits since they don’t have bread crumbs and the cheese scallop doesn’t have beer. I’d suggest trying this if you like cheese and a modern cook might enjoy experimenting with herbs or adding green onions to the scallop.

CHEESE SCALLOP
Soak 1 cupful of dry bread crumbs in fresh milk, beat into this 3 eggs, add 1 tablespoonful butter and 1/2 pound grated cheese; place in deep dish, spread sifted bread crumbs on top and bake in hot oven a delicate brown. An excellent relish when eaten with thin slices of bread and butter.

This entry was posted in Appetizer, Cooking, Food History, Kitchener, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

