Day 194 Wine Jelly

My sister was kind enough to come to my rescue today and help me with my choice of paint colours and flooring and best of all helped me move a few things so I had slightly better access to my kitchen. To celebrate I decided to make Wine Jelly, a recipe contributed by Mrs. Ph. Gies to the 1906 Berlin Cook Book. The recipe uses a small amount of wine giving my sister and I an excuse to enjoy some of it ourselves this hot Friday night.

Not having a mould handy or even a very big bowl, I decided to make half the recipe. I used two envelopes of Knox gelatine mixed with slightly less than a cup of boiling water. I had to use an electric tea kettle again since I couldn’t reach the stove. I added 1/4 cup of cold white wine. Fortunately I had one screw top bottle in the fridge as I couldn’t reach my cork screw. I decided to experiment and poured the mixture in two small bowls and added two teaspoons of sugar to the jelly in one bowl and left the other plain. I’m curious to taste the difference.  I left it to set while we tried to bring a little order to the kitchen chaos.

Matilda Waller and Philip Gies were married in 1890 and had three children by the time the cook book was published. Philip had a variety of occupations over the years. Matilda was born in Germany but came to Canada as a baby.

My sister and I rested from our labours with a taste of Wine Jelly. This is not jelly to spread on toast. This is a gelatine based dessert. The sugared version was an improvement over the plain one. The flavour of wine was apparent in both bowls. We speculated about how this was served in 1906 and whether the recipe could be used in 2012. It might have been a sort of between course dish at the turn of the century. Today it might be nice with fruit. Red wine would make a colourful dessert instead of the pale white wine version. Both of us found this a refreshing dessert on such a hot day.

Just a reminder to anyone close to Kitchener (Berlin) Ontario that Sunday is the attempt to have the world’s longest picnic. I plan to attend brining some picnic food from the cook book. I’ll fill my picnic basket by cooking in a borrowed kitchen.

WINE JELLY
To 1 box of jelly powder add 1 3/4 cups boiling water, 1/2 cup of wine, add a few tablespoons sugar if desired, turn into mould and set aside to cool.

This entry was posted in Cooking, Food History, Kitchener, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Day 194 Wine Jelly

  1. Laurie says:

    The clear jelly looked rather sophisticated and might have appeared even more so if served in a small, clear glass bowl, perhaps with a few carefully placed blueberries on top.

Leave a Reply

