Day 191 Marsh Mallows

The humidity has decreased so I thought it was safe to try making another candy. Although I have walls again in my home I still have an obstacle course in my kitchen. I thought Marsh Mallows would be a simple recipe to try again. This version was contributed by G. Debus for the 1906 Berlin Cook Book.

This recipe turns out to be almost exactly the same as the Marshmallow recipe I tried in February. Consulting that recipe helped me with this one since I wasn’t sure how much gelatine to use as it calls for 1/2 box. I put two envelopes (two tablespoons) of gelatine in a dish with the cold water. I left it for 30 minutes and then added the hot water. I stirred until it was all dissolved and then added it to the sugar in a saucepan. I turned the heat to medium and let the sugar dissolve. Once removed from the heat I started stirring. It takes a while to become white and thick. I decided to try adding lemon flavor before pouring the mixture into a pan to set. I’ve never heard of lemon marshmallows but thought it might be interesting.

Georgina Maud Debus contributed this recipe along with a number of others. She was twenty years old when they were published and on her way to becoming a nurse.

There’s really no difference between the results of the two marshmallow recipes – except for my choice to add lemon flavouring. I like the result. I think the next time I try marshmallows I’ll try to figure out how to make chocolate marshmallows. I have fond memories of them as a kid but i haven’t seen them in years.

MARSH MALLOWS
A half box of gelatine, 4 tablespoons of hot water, 7 tablespoons of cold water, 1 1/2 cups of granulated sugar. Soak gelatine in the cold water for 30 minutes and add hot water. Put sugar in a saucepan, and pour hot liquid on sugar. Remove from fire and beat until it is thick and white. Add flavor and pour at once into a dish. Keep air tight and set in a cool place to stiffen. Cut in squares with a warm knife and roll in powdered sugar.

This entry was posted in Candy, Cooking, Food History, Kitchener, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Day 191 Marsh Mallows

  1. marcia schnepf says:

    this looks like a fun camp activity…thanks!!

Leave a Reply

