Day 187 Orange Cake and Orange Cake Filling

I am still at the cottage in a community my grandparents used to visit in the summer. Yesterday was my grandmother’s birthday. She would have been 100 years old if she was still living. My grandmother was one of three girls growing up and they each took turns making dessert for their family. She always made Lemon Snow. My mother asked me to make Lemon Snown last night in her honour. She had an old recipe for me to use and it was very similar to Mary Schwartz’ Orange Snow recipe from a few weeks ago. I still had one orange and one lemon left from creating yesterday’s citrus recipes so I decided to make Orange Cake and Orange Cake Filling using Mrs. Carl Kranz’ recipe in the 1906 Berlin Cook Book.

The cake is another of the sponge style so I beat up the eggs a bit, added the sugar and salt and stirred. Next I mixed the flour and baking powder together and added them. Once they were mixed in I added the cold water. I beat everything well and poured into a greased and floured pan. I used the same pan I found when making the Cottage Cake earlier in the week. I baked the cake for 30 minutes at 350 degrees F. and then let it cool.
Meanwhile I made the Orange Cake Filling. This recipe was also contributed by Mrs. Carl Kranz and appears below her cake recipe. I added the cornstarch, sugar, water, salt, butter and egg to a saucepan along with the juice of one orange and one lemon and the zest. I stirred well and then heated it slowly. Eventually it thickened and I removed it from the stove to cool. Some of the egg white had cooked so I scooped it out. I think I should beat the egg more thoroughly before adding it to the mixture or perhaps it should be added at the very end.

I’ve used several recipes contributed by Anna Alberta Bingham aka Mrs. Carl Kranz during the past six months. Her husband was a mayor so I imagine her entertaining sometimes. This cake would suit guests very well.

I prepared the cake by cutting it into two layers and spreading the filling on each layer before stacking it back up. I served the cake accompanyed by some of yesterday’s Orange Sherbet. The cake is a bit spongy but tastes fine. The orange filling was not as thick as I expected but tasted very nice. I ended up drizzling it over the cake too since I didn’t have any icing. The cake had a scalloped edge due to the cake pan and it looked very pretty. I would try this cake and the filling again.

Unfortunately I neglected to transcribe the recipes before going into town to upload my post. I’ll update them tomorrow but here’s my best guess as to ingredients and quantities.

ORANGE CAKE
3 eggs, 1 cup sugar, a pinch of salt, 1/2 cups flour, 1 1/2 teaspoons baking powder, cold water.

ORANGE CAKE FILLING
2 tablespoons cornstarch, 1 egg, water, sugar, butter, water, juice of one orange and zest, juice of one lemon. Cook until thick.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

