Day 184 Potato Pan Cakes

There is something about cottage life that calls for a pancake breakfast at least once. This morning I decided to make Potato Pan Cakes using a recipe submitted by Mrs. August May for the 1906 Berlin Cook Book.

I made half the recipe since there were just five of us for breakfast. I had a helper peel the potatoes and then I grated each one using the larger holes of a grater. Once all six potatoes were grated I added one large egg and just over ¼ cup of sour cream. I stirred it well and then added the ¼ cup of flour. I shook in some salt before frying. I put some butter and lard in a frying pan and placed in spoonfuls of the potato pancake batter. I opted to flatten the pancakes just a bit. Once each one was browned and a bit crispy on one side I flipped it with a fork. They were ready to sample.

I have written about Mrs. August May in earlier posts. I have to travel in to the town each day to post using brief periods of internet and fading battery life in my computer so my priority is getting the recipe and tasting notes out each day.

I was concerned that there would still be raw potato but they were fine. It takes a bit longer to cook these pancakes than the ordinary flour based type so the potato shreds have time to soften and cook. My family tasters really liked Mrs. May’s Potato Pan Cakes. I prefer the ones made with mashed potatoes but these were quite good. They are plain so after sampling the pancakes prepared according to the recipe we got creative and added a few other ingredients to the batter. Fried onions, dill and a little cayenne pepper made the potato pan cakes even better. Modern cooks can experiment with other seasonings. We served them with some sour cream and apple puree and crispy bacon. Potato Pan Cakes were a good cottage breakfast but I think they would be even more welcome on a cold winter morning. I’ll keep this recipe handy.

POTATO PAN CAKES
Grate 12 large potatoes, 2 eggs, ½ cup of sour cream, ½ cup of flour and salt to taste. Then fry.

This entry was posted in Cooking, Food History, Kitchener, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

