Day181 White Cookies

It is time to refill the cookie jar. I will have assorted workmen in my house next week as they start to put my damaged home back together. I find the offer of cookies helps smooth things along the way. I’ve selected a recipe from the 1906 Berlin Cook Book for White Cookies contributed by Mrs. H. D. McKellar.

These are among the strangest cookies I’ve ever tried to produce. There seemed to be a lot of butter and lard and flour so I started thinking they might be something like shortbread.  I didn’t notice until I started the preparations but … there’s no sugar in them. There is sugar on them but not in them. What would they resemble? I creamed the butter and lard together and then added the eggs. It was strange not to be adding sugar at this point. Next I added the flour and the baking soda dissolved in boiling water. As I mixed everything together I began to realize this was more like pastry. I rolled and cut and put my circles of dough on an ungreased cookie sheet since there was so much lard and butter in the recipe. Next I sprinkled some sugar on top, rather a lot of sugar since I couldn’t imagine cookies without sugar. I baked the cookies for 10 minutes at 400 degrees F. It was a long 10 minutes of waiting since I really had no idea what to expect.

Scroll back to Day 176 (last Sunday) and the recipe for Claret Punch to find out more about Mrs. H. D. McKellar. She contributed a variety of recipes for the Berlin Cook Book and this is the fourth time I’ve used one of her recipes.

I don’t know if I made Mrs. McKellar’s White Cookies correctly but they are edible and will likely appeal to some people. If your favourite part of a pie is the crust then these are the cookies for you. If you like something a bit crisp but not too sweet then you might want to try making White Cookies. However, these are not cookie jar cookies. They are just too crumbly to survive repeated dipping of hands into the jar. These are cookies to cut small and arrange on a tea plate. I’m starting to realize that Mrs. McKellar’s recipes are somewhat unusual but can usually be trusted to be edible.

WHITE COOKIES
4 eggs, 1 cup butter, 1 cup lard, 5 1/2 cups of flour, 1 1/2 teaspoon of soda dissolved in 1 tablespoon of boiling water. Roll out thin, spread sugar on dough, cut and bake in quick oven.

This entry was posted in Cookies, Cooking, Food History, Kitchener, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Day181 White Cookies

  1. Any chance the omission of sugar is a turn of the century typo?

    • I wondered about that too. I decided to try it as written. The proportion of flour to liquid worked so I’m not sure if sugar was to be in it or not. I think it might end up too dry. However, it would be worth trying with sugar too. Overall this cook book has some typos of people’s names and a few ingredients with letters transposed but this is the first time I remember an entire ingredient and its measurements missing. I’m not ruling it out as it could happen.

Leave a Reply

