Day 180 Roulades of Veal

There are more than 12 recipes in the 1906 Berlin Cook Book that use veal and it is time I stopped avoiding these dishes. I don’t think I’ve ever eaten veal.

Veal would be easily available at this time of year. A cow must have had a calf in order to produce milk. Calves not needed for their potential as adults become veal. I decided to make Roulades of Veal since I was able to find thinly cut slices of milk-fed veal at the grocery store this week. The recipe was contributed by Mrs. D. Forsyth.

I made some cuts across the slices of veal and then had a decision to make. Was I to dust the slices with salt, pepper, parsley, minced onions and bread crumbs? Or was I to mix them together before dusting or was I to make a sort of stuffing? I decided to make a mixture of the ingredients and drop the slices into it to get a bit of coating. Then I put some of the stuffing mixture on the slices and rolled them up with it inside. I didn’t have any drippings so I put a teaspoon of lard and a teaspoon of butter in a frying pan to melt. Once it was sizzling I lay the rolled up slices of veal in and allowed them to brown on one side before rolling to another and another until they were fully browned. I then put a teaspoon of flour in the pan to brown a bit and poured some chicken broth in slowly and stirred until it thickened. I plated my meal and prepared myself to taste veal for the first time.

Augusta Clothilde Mylius and David Forsyth were married in 1882.  In the 1901 census Mr. and Mrs. D. Forsyth’s daughter and son are 13 and 10. David had emigrated from Scotland as a baby and eventually became a high school teacher.  He was Presbyterian but later became Lutheran like his wife. Augusta’s father was born in Germany but her mother was from Waterloo County. Based on the 1911 census Augusta and David live with their now young adult children at 31 Margaret Street in Berlin. Son Otto has become a traveller for a wholesale company and Dora is at home. Augusta’s mother and sister live nearby at 37 Margaret Street.

I have to confess that I tasted the gravy and stuffing before taking that first bite of veal. I survived. It was good. It was slightly chewy so I suspect I cooked it just a little too long but it was still tender. The stuffing was really nice. If only I can remember the proportions I used for another time! Mrs. D. Forsyth’s Veal Roulades are highly recommended if you eat veal and if you don’t … try it with another thinly sliced meat. If you are vegetarian … well perhaps the stuffing will work with another dish.

ROULADES OF VEAL
Take thin slices of veal, chop slightly with sharp knife, season with pepper and salt, minced onion, parsley and bread crumbs, roll lightly and tie with strong thread, fry a nice brown in drippings and butter, adding stock or water and a spoonful of floor [sic] to make gravy. Remove threads, arrange on platter and pour gravy over them.

This entry was posted in Cooking, Food History, Kitchener, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

