Day 175 Strawberry Pudding

Strawberries were plentiful at the Kitchener Market so I can make Strawberry Pudding today. This pudding is not the cold type I’ve been making lately nor the steamed type I was making during the cold weather. Lottie Rittinger contributed the recipe to the 1906 Berlin Cook Book.

I began the recipe by preparing the strawberries. I opted to slice the strawberries in half before placing them in a buttered casserole dish. Next I made the batter by creaming the butter and sugar and then adding one medium egg. I added the flour and baking powder and then the milk. I mixed it well and then spooned the batter onto the top of the strawberries in the dish. I baked the strawberry pudding for 45 minutes in a 350 degree F. oven.

Lottie Rittinger was 18 years old when the cook book was published. Based on the 1901 census, Lottie lived with her parents and two older sisters . Her father was working as a painter. Ten years later in the 1911 census she was using her full name Charlotte and was still living with her parents, older sister and two younger sisters at 193 Frederick street in Berlin Ontario. Her 79 year old maternal grandfather Doerr is also living in the home. He’s a widower. Charlotte (Lottie) works as a stenographer in a rubber clothing company. Her father is an insurance agent for life insurance. They are all listed as German heritage and Lutheran.

This is the first time I’ve seen this type of dessert referred to as a pudding. It is basically a cobbler, grunt, or slump in which all the fruit is on the bottom with some sort of dough on top. Lottie’s Strawberry Pudding is really good. I ate it hot with some vanilla ice cream. The sweetness of this dessert is just from the strawberries and the sugar in the biscuit dough on top. I will certainly make this recipe again with strawberries and I’ll try it with peaches as Miss Rittinger suggested. It is quick and easy.

STRAWBERRY PUDDING
Fill a buttered dish with strawberries and pour over the top a batter made of 1 tablespoon butter, 1/2 cup sugar, 1 egg, 1/2 cup sweet milk, 1 cup flour in which has been sifted 1 teaspoon baking powder. Bake in moderate oven till brown. Peaches can be made with same.

This entry was posted in Cooking, Food History, Kitchener, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Day 175 Strawberry Pudding

  1. Tom Reitz says:

    Assuming this is the same Lottie Rittinger … later in life, Lottie and her sister Emma lived next door to my Grandparents in Kitchener. I remember them because they always had wonderful homemade cookies! In my Grandmother’s cookbooks, there are several hand written recipes which my Grandmother credited to Lottie and Emma … including Lime Jello Pie from Lottie, Fruit Cake from Emma, to name just a few.

Leave a Reply

