Day 169 Rebecca Pudding

Today is Father’s Day. My father likes pudding and I wanted something quick to make so I selected a recipe from the 1906 Berlin Cook Book called Rebecca Pudding. The recipe was contributed by Miss Jean Moore.

I made half the recipe by creating a double boiler with a glass bowl in a saucepan of boiling water. I poured 1 cup of 2% milk in the bowl and let it heat. Meanwhile I mixed 2 1/2 tablespoons of cornstarch and 1/4 cup of sugar in a bowl. I wasn’t sure what type of chocolate was intended but I decided to grate some unsweetened Baker’s chocolate.  I used one rectangle of the usual square of chocolate.  This was a little more than a tablespoon. The grated chocolate went into the bowl with the sugar and cornstarch. I slowly stirred in the heated milk and then poured everything back in the double boiler to cook. I really is important to keep stirring. I left for a few minutes and ended up with lumps. Next I separated one medium egg. I beat up the egg yolk and again slowly mixed it with the hot milk mixture and back onto the stove to thicken. At that point I added 1/2 teaspoon of vanilla.  I whipped the one egg white and folded it into the chocolate mixture. I spooned the finished Rebecca pudding into individual serving dishes and set them to cool before tasting.

Miss Jean Moore lived with her father John D. (68) and elder sisters Agnes (28) and Ida Emma (23) and younger sister Elizabeth (18) at 138 Frederick street according to the 1911 census. Miss Moore is listed as Jean T. and she’s just 21 years old. Her father is shown as married but his wife is not in evidence. He’s a registrar at the registry office. Agnes is a copyist there while Jean is a school teacher. Elizabeth is finishing high school. They are of English heritage and are Presbyterians. I need to find out more such as where Jean taught and what happened to her mother.

I have no idea why it is called Rebecca Pudding since it is really a chocolate pudding.  My tasters and I liked this pudding. It is rich and creamy and has a strong chocolate flavour. Keep in mind that the egg whites are essentially raw.  It is a bit time-consuming to make, mainly because the mixture needs to come on and off the stove a number of times and requires several different bowls (yolk, white, and cornstarch mixture).

REBECCA PUDDING
2 cups milk, 5 tablespoons cornstarch, 2 tablespoons chocolate, 2 eggs, 1 teaspoon vanilla, 1/2 cup sugar. Heat the milk in the upper part of the double boiler. Mix cornstarch, sugar and chocolate together, stir scalded milk in gradually and return to the double boil and stir constantly until it thickens. Remove from fire and stir in the beaten egg yolks, return to fire until it coats the spoon. Stir in flavoring and fold in the beaten egg whites.

This entry was posted in Cooking, Food History, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

